Logo orange

Rachel Backer

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec, Canada

Accepting Guests

Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • student
  • formal
  • From vancouver/montreal
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

maximize exposure to live music, beaches, fresh food, new friends

ABOUT ME

i'm into electronic music, light shows, graphic novels. i travel mostly for work and cherish the opportunities that i get to travel for pleasure! i'm laid back and mostly enjoy the simple things in life like a beautiful sunset, getting caught in the rain, day hikes, good wine, farmer's markets, and dancing.

PHILOSOPHY

treat others the way you would like to be treated. talk to strangers. smile lots. tell your friends how much they mean to you.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i see it as an opportunity to exchange knowledge about life in different locations. i would love to tour people around my town or be given a tour around your neighbourhood! shared meals and drinks at a local bar would be ideal!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i was hosted in brussels when i was stranded due to a cancelled flight. i was so grateful to have a place to shower and a friend to chat with! i was also hosted in barcelona while attending a music festival. i have had many folks (friends and friends of friends) stay on my couch, but to date, none have been from the couchsurfing website.

Interests

hearing about life experiences from new acquaintances, red wine, architecture, botanical gardens, soccer/football, serenity, bustling streets, second-hand clothing stores, organic agriculture. i love to learn hands-on activities from people who know more about them than me (e.g. pottery, bike building, wine making, etc.)

Music, Movies & Books

kraftwerk, nicolas jaar, fleetwood mac, hot chip, before sunrise, silver linings playbook, la femme nikita, blow, charlie and the chocolate factory (both the original and the remake), hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy, the glass castle, maus, guy delisle's travelogues, anna karenin.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

the plains of inner mongolia.
sunrise at haleakala.
kayaking through a mangrove to reach a bioluminescent bay in puerto rico.
motorbike tour through barcelona with my couchsurfing host!
the kindness of strangers while travelling!

Teach, Learn, Share

i'm a baker, a gardener, a reader, a drawer, a yogi. i'm good at appreciating the little things in life and late night philosophical discussions. i speak canadian french.

i live in a small town on the end of the island of montreal. i can show you the best spot to watch the sunset, take you on a wicked bikeride through the countryside, introduce you to friends who are organic farmers.

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, China, India, Israel, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile