Logo orange

Malte Schomers

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 12 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Malte's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile


  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Danish, French, Italian, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • student
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me


I'm a 27-year old guy doing a PhD in Neuroscience. I also work in a coffee bar on the side because I'm a real coffee nerd.
I love Berlin, love exploring the different neighbourhoods and streets and checking out cool cafes and bars. I also enjoy cooking and going out to eat, to concerts or movies.
I'm also very interested in music, I play the piano and viola and sing in a choir.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing


I'd be happy to show travelers around Berlin (I live in Neukölln and am most familiar with this area but also know Kreuzberg, Mitte and Schöneberg quite well). Also I'm happy to teach you some German.
I love going to concerts (classical, live jazz in small bars, sometimes singer-songwriter, or electronic, sometimes indie) and would be happy for company!


Music (I play the piano and viola and sing in a choir), psychology, literature, cooking, coffee, art, science, philosophy, movies.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: too much to list everything (maybe sometime when I have time, I will make a list), but mainly classical, electronic and indie.

Movies: almost anything by the Coen Brothers (esp. Fargo and No Country for Old Men, 2001 - A Space Odyssee, A Clockwork Orange, Vicky Cristina Barcelona, Auf der anderen Seite, Das Leben der Anderen

Books: 2666, Das Schloss, The Corrections, The Catcher in the Rye, A Clockwork Orange

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been playing the piano since the age of 6, so I could definitely teach that. I also am a native speaker of German and American English and would be happy to teach those languages/help people improve their language skills. Right now I'm learning Danish and would love to find a Danish tandem partner!
I'm also very interested in the "third wave coffee" culture and work in a café, so I could also teach people about how to make good coffee, how to find good café and roasteries etc. or just meet and exchange with other people who are interested in coffee.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Malte's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile