Raphaël Sonney

Bern, Bern, Switzerland

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Raphaël’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swiss German; learning Luxembourgish, Letzeburgesch, Russian
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • civil engineering student
  • MSc
  • From Fribourg, Switzerland
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


The more considered the way, the more considerable the journey


Hi! I'm Raphaël. I am currently working in Bern as en engineer. I like to discover new things and I also enjoy sharing with people, for I like my country very much and I think it's a place you absolutely ought to know before you die!
I hope I'm entertaining and interesting enough to make you have a great time.
I have a very nice family and great friends. Luck surrounds me! If you want to know more, come on over! I'll be glad to take you to incredible places and remake the world with you!


This is where it gets quite complicated. I'll keep that for when you'll be here. We'll discuss it with a good beer or even better, a glass of wine.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I invite you to visit my wonderful and beautiful country that is Switzerland. I am working in Bern so we can stay there for awhile and I often go back to my hometown, Fribourg, which is a very nice place and worth visiting. I am unfortunately not all the time on vacation but I'd be pleased to show you around if my schedule allows it.
On the other hand, I would very much like to discover new places and have a drink with you, if you have the time of course.


I have done a few things now with CS and it reached by far the little expectation I had.
Every person I met, everything I've done so far with CS was great. I am looking forward to surf my own country as well to crack the shell we carry too often in Europe!
It just makes life easier. It makes it better.


skiing, going out to the mountains
music (I play the french horn in an orchestra)
dancing, going out, partying
getting better at stuff, especially when I suck at it ;)

Music, Movies, and Books

another thing to discuss with a drink...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It would be boring to say it all right now but I have done many things so far and have still many many things to do and discover...I am looking forward to it...Oh yes!

Basically, I try to be who I am!
But hopefully, the best thing I'll do is meeting you ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I know enough about my country and the places that you have to see to make your trip unforgettable. I am also a very good skier and I even work as a ski teacher during holidays (it always depends...).
I am open to everything that's worth learning (as long as it has a certain cultural basis). If I'm interested, you'll notice it soon enough.
But a good equilibrium between culture and party is absolutely necessary! My way of interpreting Mens sana in corpore sano.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Peru, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Italy, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Raphaël’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups