raul Davis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see raul’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Creole (Jamaica), English, Spanish; learning French, Japanese, Portuguese
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • English teacher and a Law student.
  • Life has been my greatest teacher. However, I studied for...
  • From Smithville, Clarendon, Jamaica
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Line: RXGD

I want to know the world; meeting wonderful people, build strong friendships.

ABOUT ME

I'm your typical 6ft 4" Jamaican dude in Japan.
I am 6ft 4" tall (193 cm) and I love the outdoors... give me the park, a camera, a few cool people and beer and I am fine entertainment wise.

I am an English teacher here in Osaka Japan but I am also a law student.

I am just into people and their stories, with each person I meet, another whole new world is open up to me. I think that is just how it should be.....cultures meeting , friendships formed.....world a better place!

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophy is based on that of many humanitarians and those who have defended the rights of others. I believe in equality, diversity and freedom. I believe in fundamental human rights especially the rights of women and the right to choose ones religion.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My place is small but I still host people.

I am a very clean person and I prefer people as such I believe in the respect for the space of his individual.

I am usually busy but so not able to go around with my guest but will have conversations after work and before bed.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

As stated about, I have hosted people and I have also surfed in the Philippines and Hong Kong experience.

Interests

Traveling: I love to travel and to discover the world
Culture and Language: As I travel, I wish to learn more about each culture and this can be done through learning their languages. Sometimes you might now be able to travel physically but you can allow your mind to run free. For example I cannot afford to travel regularly and I have only been to two countries but I enjoy hosting people who travel a lot.
Writing: I love writing, a talent I started to have confidence relatively late.. A telnet that I am experimenting with and appreciating even more these days. I am working on a collection of poetry, a novel and a play. The collection of poetry will be launched in Jamaica, when I return for Christmas vacation in 2012.
Music: I also love music and allows it to transport me sometime.
Education: I have been a teacher of Spanish and a private tutor in Jamaica for over five years and I am currently teaching English and learning Japanese in Japan. I like to teach and to learn from others.
Cooking: I grew up in the kitchen, being that first of three sons, so I watched my mother making some of the most delicious Jamaican dishes. Now in the city, my kitchen is so small I cannot cook as much as I want to.
Meeting people: This is self explanatory. I want to meet as many people as possible; people from whom I can learn and people I can teach.

  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • education
  • human rights
  • cooking
  • beer
  • running
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • teaching
  • languages
  • law
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Strangely, I have never been big on books until I started University. As a result, my first books were Spanish novels. These novels explore themes I have come to love, such as satire, magical realism, surrealism, dissent among others. Thus, some of my favorite books are, "El coronel, Yerma, Como agua para chocolate, sonar en Cuba", "the prophet", among others.

As it pertains to music, I have an eclectic tase for it and I believe have an old old soul. For example, I think that Otis Reading is the definition of masculine soul, and not only soul as in the genre o music. Others who i admire include Janis Joplin, the carpenters, Bob Marley,Lenny Williams, James Brown, Naz, Amy Winehouse, Kanye West, Goo Goo Dolla, Groove Throery, Adele, Teddy Pendergrass, Andrea Bocelli, among many
others.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Left my country for the firt time and lived in DC for two months and worked near the white house, climbed to the top of mount Tateyama in Toyama Japan, walked on the swinging bridges and went to the cage of the largest python in captivity in Bohol, Pgilippines.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to tell people about Jamaica and my experiences in general. I want to learn anything interesting from people. I can share just general life experiences.

Countries I’ve Visited

Hong Kong, Jamaica, Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Jamaica, Japan

Join Couchsurfing to see raul’s full profile. It’s free!