John's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

Overview

  • 138 references 121 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 61, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Former teacher, currently parttime volunteer
  • M Ed.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life.

ABOUT ME

For many years I was an elementary teacher at American schools in Germany and Japan. Every Thanksgiving, Winter Break, Spring Break, and Summer Vacation I'd travel. I've been to over 80 countries on six continents. I enjoy seeing new places and meeting new people.

Please read "My Home" section before sending a request.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have hosted couch surfers and try to show them around Portland. I have also stayed with some very good hosts. I am interested in meeting others who are open-minded, kind, clean, and considerate.
I am eager to please and do what I can to make both hosts and guests feel good 😉

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been a host many times and have been able to stay with some very good hosts. Although I am a passive gay man, most of my guests have been straight and we've gotten along very well.

Interests

Always looking for new experiences

  • theater
  • traveling
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

Varied.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meeting interesting people

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always learning from others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Maps and info about Portland, and perhaps a walk around the city center.
A couch to sleep on (with blanket, a pillow and bed linens), and a towel for the shower.
A central location with many public transit options.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Martin (French part), Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see John’s full profile.

My Groups