Reed's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Reed’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Language Assistant (English as an Additional Language Tea...
  • Bachelor of Arts (lettres) double minor French & Kine...
  • From Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Fully vaccinated with 2 doses of Moderna, and ready to live life to the fullest. I'm flexetarian and I have practiced a lot of sports that I love. They include soccer, football, wrestling, rugby, baseball, lacrosse, and now mainly rock climbing and cycling!

CURRENT MISSION

Objective #1 - Bake and share my own sourdough bread.

Objective #2 - Find a couch to surf for a couple of days, and rent a place or buy a van to live in near Versailles.

Objective # 3 - Ride my bicycle, rock climb, take dance lessons, workout, improve my French and Spanish, and travel, ideally via bicycle.

Bonus objective - Jiu-jitsu?

MY DREAM

Being a professional athlete, especially in the domain of rock climbing or cycling.

LIFESTYLE

I'm straight, but LGBTQ+ friendly.

As somebody who is equal parts concerned for the environment, and for my personal health, I don't really drink alcohol. When offered alcohol my go-to line is "I'd rather have abs than a 6-pack." I may, however, decide to enjoy a few tastes of wine while in France.

ABOUT ME

Laughter is my medicine, so not much escapes my droll attitude. I also love having really good, thought invoking or just plain silly conversations. I'm also quite quiet at first.

PHILOSOPHY

Il faut cultiver notre jardin.
(Voltaire)

SOMETHING I WANT TO IMPROVE

I want to swim more, and I'm always wanting more cooking experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing to meet locals while I travel, and meet foreigners when I'm not. I like meeting interesting people!

And the reason I've stayed on Couchsurfing is because of the film "A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood"

Interests

I have cousins in Mexico that drew me into a passion for learning languages, and I grew up in a province that had me in love with all sports, even hockey despite my inability to skate well.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • education
  • environment
  • exercise
  • meditation
  • motorcycles
  • politics
  • cycling
  • history
  • languages
  • philosophy
  • food
  • sustainability
  • vacation
  • asl
  • music production
  • oceans
  • pinball

Music, Movies, and Books

As far as music. all types. They're all great in context. like any other types/genres of media.

My go-to album is "Greatest Hits Vol. 1" the first full length album by P'tit Belliveau

Movies are rad. I love Monty Python's Holy Grail.

The book that gets me thinking is Candide by Voltaire. I enjoy the plots of Greek mythologies, and a play I enjoyed reading is Bombay Black by Anosh Irani. Lastly, I just finished reading The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson, and it's quite silly like Monty Python somehow became a non-fiction novel (though it is of course fiction).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching amazing acrobatic feats of lucha libre in Mexico. 😀

Translating French to an English speaking Newfoundlander whom I could barely understand.

Hiking with a kitten on a leash.

Spontaneous cave exploring.

Teach, Learn, Share

I REALLY want to learn how to sail and live on a sailboat.

I want to start teaching gym.

I want to learn more French. (I love Spanish way more, but struggle finding people to practice with).

I want to share my home. Even though I live with my parents.

I can most definitely do an oil change with the right tools.

I also studied Music and Music Technology. I love to share that knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I learned some massages in Government paid French immersion school!

I can offer hosts my ears to listen, and my ideas to share.

I'm also pretty good at correcting spoken English, or improve French and Spanish.

Also, refer to "teach, learn, share"

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Hong Kong, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Mexico, Panama

Join Couchsurfing to see Reed’s full profile.

My Groups