Renae Verboon's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Renae’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Indonesian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Waitress
  • Bachelor of International Development with honours
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To learn about the world.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 22 year old who grew up on a dairy farm in rural Australia, then moved to Melbourne to study. I've just finished a four-year bachelor of international development course. Now that I'm finished studying I wanted to do a little bit of travelling, so I've booked flights to Amsterdam, and I'll be arriving on the 16th of March 2015. I'm level-headed, mature and free-loving. I admire anybody who can hold a conversation and who is pleasant to be around.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've got three months in the Eurozone, arriving March 16th and leaving on June 8th 2015. I'm on couch surfing because I want to meet people and make friends, and I think couch surfing is a great way to do that. I'm also on a budget and am looking to stretch my money as far as possible. What I save on accommodation I can spend on fun things!
I wanted to do most of my travelling in the Netherlands, mainly because I want to learn about my family's history and even meet some family and friends over there. It's my first time in Europe and I'm really excited, but also a little nervous! During my trip I want to go to France and Italy, maybe Germany and Belgium. I plan to do quite a bit of cycling through the Netherlands and also on the trails that go throughout the Eurozone.

Interests

I've spent four years studying International Development. I'm passionate about social justice and environmental issues. I enjoy parties, outdoor adventures, art and architecture, intellectual discussion, amazing food and amazing people.
I've spent two months in Indonesia volunteering with a local charity, it was great fun. I can also speak (average) Indonesian!
I like to read about real-world events and current affairs. I also like to waste a lot of my time watching stupid Youtube videos and browsing memes, but who doesn't?
Some of my other hobbies include sewing, knitting, art and craft, painting and DIY.

  • animals
  • arts
  • architecture
  • diy
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • cheese
  • beer
  • partying
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • painting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • history
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Non-fiction books
Documentaries - David Attenborough!
I enjoy most music, not too picky.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've met orangutans in a remove area of Kalimantan, Indonesia. They are beautiful animals.
I've also had the opportunity to volunteer with marginalised communities in several parts of Indonesia, complementing my studies in International Development.
I've slept under moonlight and stars not far out of my home city. I love star-gazing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you basic Indonesian language and how to do macrame

What I Can Share with Hosts

I really enjoy cooking for other people, and I would be more than happy to cook for my hosts. I love having in-depth conversations, but also like to take it easy at times. We can share nice beer and wine and eat cheese and play awesome music together!

Countries I’ve Visited

Indonesia, Malaysia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Renae’s full profile. It’s free!