Logo orange

Rob Verstraaten

Zegge, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 14 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning Chinese, German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • electronic engineer (product design ...
  • bachelor degree in electronic engine...
  • From Zegge, West Brabant, The Netherlands
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life, make friends, spend the time as precious as it is.

ABOUT ME

Love to hang out with other people and share thoughts and interests about almost everything you can imagine. Besides talking I like to put in some action by sporting, walking around, lifting beers and explore the unexplored. I would love a medicine that can cure the need of sleep because I'd like to spend every minute as precious as it is.

Besides above I am a technical nerd who is well at programming software and designing electronics. Because I have my own company I am kind of free to travel when I want to. This gives me the possibility to combine work and traveling together. For some reason I fell in love for Asia and China in particular. I did my internship over there and lived in southern China for some extra months. Since then I travel to China for business and add some extra time to travel the other amazing places that Asia has to offer.

I was born in Holland which is a great place too. This makes it a hard decision for me if I should move to Shenzhen (China). I am busy with finding out this quest at this time and have an answer in the next months.. hopefully...

PHILOSOPHY

Be brave. Take risks. Nothing can substitute experience. Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Just new here! For now I want to try this out with my next trip. June 13th will head to Singapore to see what this country has to offer. After the weekend will drive with a rented car -roadtrip :D - to Kuala Lumpur. Then go to China to meet my Chinese friends who graduate from their university, also some come back from their abroad studies. After that I will head to Shenzhen for work and when I finish I really have to go back to Holland.

I am sure I will meet people I didn't meet before and have a splendid time with them. Hope this site will add some mint in the mojito.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Just new here.. Unfortunate I did not know about this site before. Met some amazing people in the past during my traveling and this makes me believe that this site could lift the level up high to meet new interesting people from all around the world.

Interests

Meeting new interesting and open-minded people who like a laugh and stay connected with them for the rest of time.

I like to enjoy my time by finding tasty new kinds of food, see amazing nature but also highly-technological spots and after have a massive party in one of the best bars or clubs near my location.

Music, Movies & Books

I can't live without music.. And I love all kinds of it. From House/Electro to Hard Rock and back to Classic ballads.

I don't watch that much movies.. but if I have to recall some, then the next names come up as quickest: The Hangover, Limitless, The book of Eli, Farewell my Concubine, If you are the one (chinese), Pulp Fiction, The dark knight and Inception.

I have to say I am not a book worm.. But when i start, I can't stop reading. Maybe that is why I don't start reading books quickly when i finished one.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Diving in the clear waters of egypt, snowboarding the snowy mountains in france, driving motorbike in the hills of chiang mai and partying allnighters in china are some things which gives me a biggg smile.. i can't choose one particular

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach- I am teaching people the thrills of snowboarding already for 8 years now in my spare time at Skidome in Holland. It gives me the possibility to meet a lot of different people and make them as enthusiastic as I am about this sport that I already enjoy on a professional level for more then 12 years.

Learn- I would like to improve my Chinese.. Currently it is still in low level control but I want to learn more in the coming years. Also would like to master the guitar and have some other dreams to come true too ;)

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, China, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

China, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile