Rob Ennals's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 3 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Computer Science
  • PhD from Cambridge, UK
  • From Hampton, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Taking time off to visit interesting places before starting a new job at Google at the end of October


At the end of October I will be starting a new job at Google, but first I decided to take three months out to explore Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. This obviously isn't enough time to see any of these places properly, but I want to get at least a feel for what these places are like and make friends with people who live in these places.

If I ask to couchsurf with you, it is because I want to meet an interesting person from an interesting place, and get something of an insiders view of what the place where you live is really like. I'm more interested in meeting someone interesting than just finding somewhere to sleep, so don't worry if you aren't sure whether you will be able to put me up.

I was born and grew up in the UK, but moved to Berkeley, California in 2006, where I worked at Intel Research. In my work, I am interested in ways that we can use technology to make people aware of different points of view:

Links about me:
New Scientist:


I like to dedicate my life to finding things that suck about the world, and then seeing if I can fix them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I signed up for this site a few years ago and then forgot about it. A few days ago a friend suggested I use Couchsurfing for this trip, so I got back on it and updated my profile.

I've never hosted a couchsurfer, but I definitely intend to in the future, after I get back.


Comedy (I sometimes do standup)

Different ways of looking at the world (I run a debate club)

Motorcycles (I ride a Triumph Daytona)

  • running
  • clubbing
  • motorcycles
  • technology
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

My favorite movie is Life of Brian, with Fight Club close behind.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how the web works. I used to be in the group that writes to specs for HTML5.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!