Logo orange

Roland 's Groups

Roland Zonneveldt

Royken, Buskerud, Norway

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Roland 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Norwegian Bokmål; learning French, German
  • 59, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Nature, I like to hike and walk. Cam...
  • Masters in sosial antropology
  • From Amsterdam, the netherlands
  • Profile 40% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Meeting new people, learning new things, enjoying life.

ABOUT ME

I really live my life, enjoy it, experience it, go for it. And yet I try not forget to be engaged if necessary,
At this moment I am living 40 km south of Oslo, Norway. I am working as a social worker (miljøterapeut) in a house from the norwegian barnevernet with small children from Africa. It's the best job in the world and my colleagues are really fantastic too.
I have two grown up children who live not far from me.

PHILOSOPHY

Be positive. Feel responsible. For me it's a basic need to learn, and to learn everyday. I know it's very healthy to relativate too and I have a reasonable good sense of humor.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I live temporary in a small hytte (cabin) which only consists of one room. It's a great place, in nature, but I sadly enough have no possibility to receive guests. I hope this will change in the near furture as I plan to buy a normal house later this year.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have no experience in "formal" couchsurfing, but I hope I will have the chance this summer.
I have a lot of experience in couchsurfing (both as guest as receiving guests), in the seventies and eighties. Although the word couchsurfing did not yet exist, nor internet. In those days when I travelled to distant places it was only possible to send letters, and you could receive letters from home through the postoffices in the cities you passed by. I just met people when was travelling and than sometimes I was invited or I invited people to stay with me when I met them abroad or in Amsterdam. All experiences I have had with this were very positive! Never experienced any problems whats or ever. Now I am a bit older, I am free again and I am eager to start travelling again. I am looking forward to do couchsurfing as part of my travels.

Interests

Music, foreign cultures, nature (walking, trekking, camping, cabin hike) languages, children, Norway, Africa, India/Nepal.

Music, Movies & Books

Very different kinds of rock music, especially alternative rock, Indie, Underground, Americana. Folk music. African music. World music. Classical music (especially ancient - baroque, renaissance).
I am not a film expert, but if I do go than I like to go to the more arty style/psychologic films (in the old days I saw a lot of Italian movies like Fellini and Visconti). Woody Allen. And of course Charlie Chaplin, he is the master. I do not like to see films that contain violence.
I am not a book expert either. But as I wanted to learn the norwegian language and the culture I have in the last years been reading a lot of norwegian books (Knausgård, Lars Saabye Christensen, Tore Renberg, Dag Solstad).

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have lived in a Diola village, in the house of a local family, in the south of Senegal, and studied the local musicians and local (female)traditional dance culture.

Teach, Learn, Share

Many years of experience in life. Enough to share. And certainly curious and patient enough to listen to your stories!

Countries I've Visited

Algeria, Belgium, Burkina Faso, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Ghana, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Nepal, Niger, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Senegal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Netherlands, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Roland 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile