Ron Beilinson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ron’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning French
  • 61, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Technology
  • MBA (Fuqua) Duke, MS&BS (UTx, Tulane, UNC)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

A single dad with 3 adult kids (16,18,20) looking to share the world, explore its people and cultures, and plan safe, fun, different, and sometimes exhilarating experiences.
I grew up in New Orleans - where the spirit of Mardi Gras creates a unique environment that thrives on music and somehow preserves the upside of crazy. I've lived in the US south and southwest, in N Carolina, in Sydney (teaching and consulting, but also travel and adventure), and I've had the fortune of discovering great experiences among new and old friends.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To provide a shared experience where my 3 adult children can meet
and connect with people, find common connections, discover cultures, appreciate distinctions, and realize the world offers so much through connecting with each other while traveling.

Interests

Outdoor enthusiast.
Hiking, Cycling, Kayak, Sailing, Swimming, Scuba, Ropel/Absail, etc.
Cycling: locally just for exercise & touring to discover: I've cycled Tasmania & the Great Ocean Rd, yet wish to do Paris-Budapest round trip covering 2 routes.
Meeting people and listening, learning, & sharing.
Numbers and analysis
Quality and business process
Discovering unique places - creating adventure

Music, Movies, and Books

Last Samurai
Scent of a Woman
Memoirs of a Geisha
Shawshank
Good Will Hunting
Hobbit/Lord of the Rings

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swam between countries (ok, the Boundary waters at Knife Lake decades ago)
Spent 1M on a remote island in the Barrier Reef (Diving): Turtles, Sharks, Mantas
Cycled Adelaide-Melbourne's Great Ocean Road
The Assault on Mt Mitchell - a rolling 70m b4 a 30 mile 7k' climb
Shamrock Marathon by the sea
Sailing to Lord Howe Island (an amazing 3 weeks w/o our reaching our destination)
Stranded > 1 week in a remote place (S of Sydney) due to crazy flooding
Fasted 10 days

Teach, Learn, Share

Discussion of travels and adventures, with unique ideas for discovery.
My work interests are areas of quality and risk.
I was a teacher for several years.
I was a soccer coach (& ref & forward).

What I Can Share with Hosts

A sense of adventure and a lot of funny stories and laughs.
Advice on Australia & perspectives from my 3 amazing years there.
Turkey-Bacon Peppers, adapted to what's available & who'll be eating them.
My family with your family: 3 great (young adult) kids that make dad proud: each has passions to see the world; unique (funny how kids are like that); Ready to learn about people and the places where they live. My family is well-behaved and respectful; my girls are natural mama wannabees (connecting well with toddlers and youngsters); a swim instructor, a problem solver, & an empathizer. (Perhaps I'm raising explorers.)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Scotland, Sweden, Thailand, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ron’s full profile.