Rosaly vonBrincken's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosaly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, Spanish
  • 63, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Language Teacher and Educational Consultant
  • Master's degree in Linguistics and a PhD to finish...
  • From Lauro de Freitas, Bahia, Brazil
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be nobody but myself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you like everybody

ABOUT ME

I'm a mother of three professionally successful young men, all of the three married now, and a grandmother of three most beautiful grand kids. I had a very successful career of my own, both as a high school and University teacher. But also, and during most of my career, I had top administrative positions in the places I have worked which demanded long work hours. Right now, after marrying for the second time, I decided to give more time for myself and for the family. My husband is German, and he's got three kids and two grand kids of his own. They are also married, but they live in Germany. About my personality, I'm energetic, looking more ahead, very much pragmatic, and good company to be with.
Now, last but not least, we live in a house and we share our household with two female dogs, a female cat and two parakeets. We love all of them. But dogs and cats are not to sleep in the owner bed, if you understand me.

PHILOSOPHY

I don’t regret the past for the things I did, indeed I would repeat everything I’d have the chance, but I certainly wouldn’t mind having pushed my boundaries further. There's a quotation that says a lot about the way I feel and I want to share it with you:
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." (Mark Twain)
Also, something else that's very much me, I tend to see the glass half full and count my blessings at the end of the day. I like to be positive, and enjoy a good laughter.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Besides being a member willing to offer some support to other members if they need to in my geographical area or in my area of expertise, I plan to join the CS Project and a part-time volunteer working from home. I'll be waiting for them to update their page to enroll myself, as I can help greeting new members, translating the website into my local language, and answering questions from members.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None up to now. Whenever I was away from home, either I stayed at family's or friends', or at hotels/inns.

Interests

Many things. Music (except hard rock, rap, funk, etc), education, politics, current events, films, books, languages, etc. etc. Besides, as I'm a curious cat and an attentive listener, I enjoy learning about another person's experiences, interests, and about almost anything. The web is great for that! Now, the web is the limit! I also love gardening. I do Pilates and hydro biking, but though I love going to the beach, walking, etc, I'm not much for outdoor sports.

  • cats
  • dogs
  • books
  • education
  • pilates
  • walking
  • gardening
  • politics
  • movies
  • volunteer work
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • sports
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I'd rather not to list that. It would be too much of a closed list.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The miracle of life. I have seen my kids be born and grow. My grand kids being born and growing..

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn more about other cultures, other peoples' experiences, other peoples' world. I have no prejudice be it a different sexual orientation, religious beliefs, etc I just wouldn't enjoy violence, abuse or aggressiveness of any type.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Chile, France, Germany, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosaly’s full profile. It’s free!