Rosza Majsa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosza’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Art History Student
  • No education listed
  • From Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an art nerd and I miss my cat. Can be a little reserved until I start talking about something I'm passionate or have ideas about. Also sometimes I communicate through sounds and hand gestures because there aren't always enough words for big ideas.

I'm very easygoing, accepting of, and interested in other people and how they're formed by their culture. Which is why I'm studying anthropology. I'm interested in the down fine line between the personal and the collective.

I'm very curious and indecisive so before finding anthropology I was studying fine art for two years. Before I discovered that I prefer making things for myself, and the relationship between art and institutions is something I haven't sorted out all my feelings about yet. Also art history, which I'm still doing because there's no better insight into different cultures and time periods than art.

On my current trip I was initially visiting very important people in my life who I'm lucky to know from travel or art school, in their home towns, from Hong Kong to England. And now I want to maintain that vibe of staying with people with a local perspective.

Anyway written descriptions like this tend to make people sound a little serious. I'm not a big party or club person but I enjoy a drink or something and a chat with friends. I'm vegan to try be good to the earth.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The kind of travelling I value is the kind that's open minded, accessible to anyone and doesn't exclude people based on things like price. I'm interested in meeting people who share local knowledge, even if it's a few tips or some historical or political information, and who understand what it's like to be a student on a budget who still wants to see the world.

Coming just about anywhere from New Zealand requires a lot of time and money so travel is very special for me. I'm always looking to experience as much culture as I can when I manage to get out of my little corner of the world.

Interests

  • cats
  • arts
  • photography
  • music
  • anthropology
  • art history
  • nature
  • film photography
  • astrology
  • nature walks

Music, Movies, and Books

I can never remember past favourites until they come up in conversation, but currently in my backpack I have a book I brought in Hong Kong on gender and sexuality in the pacific, something by Carl Jung, and the Archaeology of Knowledge by Foucault. Which is kind of ambitious of me because it turns out I've felt less like reading serious stuff in my downtime, and more like doodling in notebooks, listening to music and processing the things I've seen.

Recently I've been listening to bands like Alvvays and Warpaint, or more gothic and singer-songwriter stuff like Chelsea Wolfe, Emma Ruth Rundle. I'll always love people like Björk, Bat for Lashes, P J Harvey, Patrick Wolfe who are a little odd and mystical. That's what I'll play for myself but I love when other people play music because there's so much to discover and my taste is ultimately eclectic. Was very disappointed by the new XX album.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The first time I did a big overseas trip solo I was 18, having just left high school. It came with a lot of lessons about myself and how to look after myself in the world.

I was always confused when people used to tell me I was brave for travelling but the older I get I can appreciate how much of a significant and valuable thing it was for me to undertake then.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can make good salads, talk about art history, generally be helpful and respectful.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Cook Islands, France, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosza’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups