Radka Poulová's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Radka’s full profile.

Overview

  • 26 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English; learning French, German, Polish, Russian
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Volunteer, life-long learner, hiker and a passionate vega...
  • Charles University in Prague
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Note: If you want to be hosted, please have a complete profile and possibly some friends/references. Also, make an effort to write a personalised request!

I also have a Trustroots profile: https://www.trustroots.org/profile/rpoulova

CURRENT MISSION

Working less, living more.

ABOUT ME

Adventure-seeker, stereotype-hater, cheap flights addict :). I love sightseeing, arts and culture, meeting new people and will be happy to show you around in case I am not working at the moment (which unfortunately is quite likely).

I'm not really a party person and would prefer to go to the countryside, or to a nice restaurant or café bar for a talk... I like exploring abandoned and hidden places which cannot be found in travel guides, but which have their own specific beauty and atmosphere.

Sometimes I am the most boring person in the world, and sometimes I end up doing totally spontaneous and unexpected crazy stuff. The thing is, I cannot tell in advance in which of these moods you are likely to find me :-)

I am adaptable, a problem-solver, and I seek meaningful conversations. I am also a very intuitive person, but can be very rational and logical when it comes to it. I am bad at using modern technologies :)

I love animals, specially cats. I am obsessed with platypuses.

As I have a degree in Journalism, I love watching/reading interviews with interesting people.

I love both sending and receiving postcards.

I love traveling by public transport, specially trains.

Eastern and central Europe are definitely my favourite parts of the world, as well as the Middle East.

NB: Please note this is not a dating site and I WILL NOT respond to any suspicious requests from males with no friends, references or photos!

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

That we cannot make the world a better place doesn't mean we should stop trying :-) And I believe that meeting people of other cultural backgrounds and sharing your thoughts and experience with them CAN make the world a better place. Couchsurfing added colours to my life and made it much better. I want the other people to experience the same!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Both hosting and surfing - both is great!

Sometimes I enjoy writing really long couchsurfing requests. I honestly feel sorry for all people who have to read them :D

Interests

Traveling - anywhere, as far as time and money allow. Outdoors preferred - preferably hiking and camping with just a tent, sleeping bag, little stove and sometimes not even that :-) I also like evening campfires with a guitar and songs (though I neither play nor sing, eh...). Hitchhiking is great but I must get better (and more confident) at it.

Art galleries, museums, concerts, good food and drinks, stand up comedy.

Learning and teaching languages.

Cooking and baking - I am a vegan and cooking is my biggest passion and a form of relaxation at the same time. I bring a new cookbook from almost every trip abroad. I specially love cakes and sweets!

Ecology and sustainability.

Feminism and women's rights.

Migration, multiculturality and related social issues.

Volunteering

Co-housing, community living, sharing.

... and many more! There are always new things ready to be discovered :-)

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • womens rights
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • ecology
  • languages
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Coldplay, U2, Keane, Queen, Oasis, Adele, Lily Allen, Robbie Williams, Imagine Dragons, Ed Sheeran, Ellie Goulding... and some Czech stuff

Movies: Anything with George Clooney and Hugh Grant; Bridget Jones, Love Actually, Amores Perros, Green Mile, Gegen die Wand, Das Leben der Anderen, Todo sobre mi madre, Friends with Benefits, Up in the Air, La Vita e bella,...

Books: Milan Kundera, Ian McEwan, Khaled Hosseini, Michel Houellebecq, language books and dictionaries of all kinds, and Lonely Planet guidebooks of course :) Please, no Paulo Coelho in the house!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Shared a house with five guys for 7 months... and survived :)). Haha!

Lived in a squatted place in Amsterdam for two weeks.

Worked on a ship, on a plane and on a bus. (not at the same time, though :D)

Travelled by the Trans-siberian train from Moscow to Vladivostok.

Walked to Santiago de Compostela.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to hear about all your travel experiences.

I love cooking so if you'd like to share any of your country's recipes, I'll be glad! Just no meat please!

I would love to get to know some movies and music from your country.

I would love to learn more yoga and meditation.

We can share our knowledge about sustainable living, about hiking and survival in the wilderness, travel tips, life hacks... I might also use your knowledge if you are good with computers/smartphones, because I am not :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can cook some vegan dishes for you (though probably not the traditional Czech cuisine, that is not really my thing... but I can try if you insist), guide you through my city, take you to some of its interesting places, explain about the local life... I will try to answer any of your questions about the place where I live and give you advice and suggestions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cuba, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Gambia, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Oman, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Czech Republic, Iceland, Poland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Radka’s full profile.

My Groups