Ralph Thompson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 19 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ralph’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 36 References 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • University Lecturer (Animal Behaviour)/'Artist'
  • PhD in Biology/Psychology
  • From England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

** I am getting quite a lot of requests in Edinburgh so PLEASE READ all of my profile and 'My Home' section when sending requests.

** At the moment fairly short notice requests are preferable (as I don't know what I will be far into the future).

I am a scientist with a curious mind, currently teaching Animal Behaviour and Welfare at University.
I like thinking about the world, creating art (drawing and painting), meeting new and different people and exploring new places.
Happy when walking (in cities or forests), cycling, learning, drawing, imagining or sleeping.

More about me (and my art) on my website:


Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have hosted in Bristol, Chester and Edinburgh, and surfed in the rest of the world.

I have been hosted in Uganda, Czech Republic, Greece, Slovakia, Poland, Portugal and the UK - all very good experiences; and met people through CS in other countries as well. I have also hosted people from from Europe, Australia and America in Bristol and Chester and hope to be able to have more guests soon. I feel very lucky to have met some really lovely people from couch-surfing.


Generally thinking, exploring and spending time with nice people

Music, Movies, and Books

Lord of the Rings, Tolkien
The Alchemist, Coelho
Symposium, Plato

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Every time a person shows kindness to someone they do not know and will probably never meet again.

- Being between a charging white rhino (with calf) and herd of buffalo in South Africa

- Talking to a stranger who is alone and finding they are as happy to have the company as I am.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can (and would love to) teach:
- Zoology
- Biology
- Other Science
- Drawing/Painting
- English

...and eager to learn everything :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Food (vegetarian)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Slovakia, South Africa, Uganda, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Ralph’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups