Ryan Gambord's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Grad Student
  • B.S. Biology (Botany)
  • From Santa Cruz, California
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Right now, I'm a children's math and reading instructor, and I volunteer as a naturalist at a local nature center. I'm really concerned about the future of our natural environment, and I take every chance I get to learn about and promote ways we can preserve it for future generations.

I just finished my 2500 mile journey cross country, and I'm looking for long term housing before grad school starts. In the meantime, I've made some amazing friends, and looking to make more. Hit me up if you have an open couch for me + friendly dog, or just would like to meet up for coffee.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I signed up back in '11 with the intention of backpacking across the US. Shortly after, I shattered my foot in a tree-climbing accident. I put away my gear, and abandoned the account. Finally, I have a chance to travel again, and hopefully a place to host out of once I arrive at my destination. I'm intentionally going off the beaten path to hit up some of the amazing landscapes that dot the mid-western region. I also have my dog with me, so finding easy accommodations has been pretty difficult.

Interests

Archery/target shooting

Canoeing

Conservation/natural resources

History

Backpacking

Rock climbing

Woodworking

Gardening

  • dogs
  • environment
  • coffee
  • instructor
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • woodworking
  • backpacking
  • canoeing
  • hunting
  • rock climbing
  • archery
  • history
  • mathematics
  • science
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I've seen > 500 movies: http://www.imdb.com/user/ur48481640/ratings
Music: Folk, post rock, mellow stuff
Books: Historical fiction, non-fiction mostly

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived in the Boundary Waters for two weeks, and canoed ~50 miles over ~20 portages.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Tales of the midwest. Archery if you're interested. Fluffy dog. Science.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile. It’s free!