S Palmer's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see S’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Latvian, Spanish
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Project Manager
  • BA in History, minor in East Asian History, TESOL certified
  • From Seattle, WA, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I volunteered with the elderly and blind for 6 years - everyone lamented not taking more risks, not traveling enough and being too sensible about jobs.

I took that advice to heart - New food, new festivals, new music, new friends, new hobbies, day trips, road trips, flights and trains. I actively search for new experiences and new friends while keeping the old dear.

My favorite trips have been to Japan to visit former exchanges student friends (8 homes visited!) over five weeks. I loved seeing their neighborhoods, where they shopped, and family favorite restaurants.

When I was in Acapulco, Mexico we stayed in a rented villa while the owners vacationed. I walked the neighborhood taking pictures of the wrought iron garages painted in amazing colors.

Thank you for sharing, and I hope I can share with you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I plan on traveling to Europe for a year in 2016

Interests

"Jack of all trades, master of none" in arts/crafts - wood working, crochet, sewing costumes. Avid reader.

Geocaching (https://www.geocaching.com)

  • arts
  • writing
  • festivals
  • dining
  • crafts
  • traveling
  • crochet
  • music
  • road trips
  • parks
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I love writing letters. I have had a "pen pal" in Latvia for 20 years!

Teach, Learn, Share

If you come to the Seattle area, Uber is very popular. Our public transportation (buses especially) are not very accessible unless you live downtown in a city. I recommend renting a car or budgeting for Uber.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I live near the Cedar River Trails (17 miles of paved trails along the river in parks or the city of Renton).

I am also near the freeway and highway intersections - about 35 minutes to major cities, SeaTac airport and mountains.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Japan, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see S’s full profile. It’s free!