Sabine_and_family's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabine_and_family’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 23 References 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • English/Writing prof, writer.
  • MFA literature & life's tragedies and comedies.
  • From Whitefish, Montana, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Kindness.

ABOUT ME

Naya (daughter, 14), Edel (daughter, almost 3), and I think life is really wonderful.

These things are happiness to me:

Sitting quietly weeding in the garden, reading authors that attend to the small details that matter, enjoying the full range between optimism and pessimism, writing fiction, daydreaming of our days in Paris and Oxford, enjoying our pets Ladybug (giant Newfie) & Magdalen (tiny Westie) & our cat Kiki, sorting out different kinds of humans, and watching the birds at the feeder.

Presently as a college prof. & single mom, life is a bit full, so we are unlikely to host you at this time...but ask, it may work sometimes for us. Certainly ask for advice or insights into Glacier & this area.

PHILOSOPHY

I most connect with Buddhist philosophy - self-awareness, nonviolence to the nth degree, mahayana kindness. If a tree in our town is cut down it isn't small; if I swat at a fly and miss, ah, relief, partly. A wonder-filled atheist is one descriptive I have for myself even so.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We enjoy hosting, especially when people are coming from another continent. After being a guest for a full month in Europe w/ my older daughter in '08 & for about a week in '10, I really understand the sort of host I enjoy...traveling, while amazing, is also hard work...and it's so nice when couchsurfing can be a real island to arrive to along the journey. We try to be these sort of hosts (when we have the energy...sometimes I am too busy to be anything more than a so-so host). OR presently, I am too brimming over to host at all.

We also enjoy generous, treading-lightly, and truly reciprocating guests. We have hosted a flurry of short-term travelers, as well as some longer term travelers (two people for 2+ months!), as well as other scenarios; while all of it has been lovely, we will take more care to seek future guests that resemble more of a rain system--water evaporates out of the lake, condenses, pours rain down into the lake, so that water can continue to evaporate out of the lake.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I preferred the couch to my bed as a child. Now as an adult...We've been guests with 14 different people/families in 7 different countries with couchsurfing and it was amazing each time to me to be welcomed into a stranger's home and treated with such kindness.

We've now hosted many many more nights than we've guested, and this feels wonderful to offer out to the world of humans who surely all need more softness than the world tends to offer.

Interests

Living a calm life that has plenty of room for kindness, art, reading, and being outside.

  • pets
  • cats
  • birds
  • arts
  • writing
  • beauty
  • yoga
  • flying
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • atheism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Mostly right now I watch weird TV series w/fervor with my tween like Pretty Little Liars or Trauma or Crisis, or Beatrix Potter cartoons with my toddler.

Music: I really like most of it, but my steadfast choices are Bach and/or 20s and 30s jazz/ragtime. The world is good when I manage to catch it on NPR on Sunday afternoons.

Plays/Books: Alice Munro's short fiction, "Arcadia" by Stoppard, anything by V. Woolf, anything by Frost, most things by Hardy though Tess of the d'Urbervilles would be the top pick, The Folding Cliffs, Beloved, A Fairy Went a Marketing, Foucault.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Looking up at the stars in the summer while lying on my back outside on the ground & then imagining that I am instead looking down into the universe floors me everytime. I haven't done it in a while, and need to.

The utter beauty of two daughters, from nowhere, then growing, then held. It's what people want out of love but chase all around for.

Having known my grandmother; having felt that level of admiration and love for another.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you're my guest I can share spots I like to walk in the woods & calm, curious conversation.

If you're my host, my daughters and I can be a warm, friendly, and calm presence in your home; I can share some yoga poses & breathing with you; I enjoy helping in other peoples' gardens.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, France, Germany, Italy, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sabine_and_family’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups