Logo orange

André Retrot

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see André's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student/PackMule
  • Uni
  • From Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Eat more vegies.

ABOUT ME

I'm happy, independent, thoughtful, and love good conversation, good films, good books, good music, and bad puns.

When at home, any spare time I have I try to spend out and about in the sun, socialising, or laid back listening to music and/or reading a book.

When travelling, I like to get down and dirty and experience the underbelly of a city. I want to meet locals. Love the outdoors, but enjoy social settings too, so if you're into hiking or camping, or just love sitting around yakking and sipping on red wine or beer, then you're my perfect host/guest.

I'm a vegetarian and terrible cook. So mostly I just eat sandwiches. But very willing to help out and learn.

Atm, I'm doing my honours year in Literature in Melbourne, and may go on to do Education next year.

PHILOSOPHY

I'm a rule utilitarian (most of the time), vegetarian (most of time), aspiring renaissance man and child of the enlightenment, with a love of English humour, American music, Australian weather, and Dutch straightforwardness.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My couch-surfing has been limited to the US and Cuba, so far. But hoping to host a few people in melbourne.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I suppose I'm still new to the couchsurfing world, but am so excited about the whole thing. It seems like such a fantastic idea, and has restored my faith in humanity somewhat.

My experiences so far have all been life-affirming.

Interests

Love progressive trance and bush doofs, 60s/70s folk rock, blues, alt-country, animals (big dog person), new ideas, new people, formula one, cups of tea, and the smell of old books.

Music, Movies & Books

I like films with good dialogue, and editing that doesn't make your head spin: Coen Brothers, Leoni, Tarantino, Scorcese, Kubrick, Eastwood etc.

Music: Very far-reaching, although not much contemporary stuff: mostly 60s and 70s, some 80s, early 90s, and also some quality electronic dance music. Some of my favourite artists are Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Paul Kelly, The Kinks, Led Zeppelin, Justin Townes Earle, The Doors, Simon and Garfunkel (& Simon's solo stuff), The Beatles, The Dead, Jason Mraz, Pink Floyd, Bon Iver, Symphonix, Ace Ventura, Massive Attack, Metallica, Herby Hancock,Joni Mitchell... it goes on (and on, and on).

Hemmingway, Heller, Austen, Lawrence, McEwan, McCarthy, Shakespeare, Twain... Mostly classics (though my lit major is slowly destroying the pleasure), but basically anything getting good reviews from good reviewers. Non-fiction-wise: de Botton, Hitchens, Dawkins, Harris, Hume, Russell.

TV, I don't really watch. But I do have a habit of inhaling whole HBO series in a single session: The Sopranos, The Wire, Mad Men, Deadwood, The West Wing. Black books, Monty Python's Flying Circus, The Office, Extras. Love Dennis Potter's work and also, I like a good doco: Cosmos, Attenborough, anything by Frontline.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Some of the most memorable times I've had have been at underground, outdoor electronic music festivals. Some amazing sunrises accompanied by hard-hitting progressive trance.
Also, hiking in the Tasmanian Wilderness, which is where I grew up.
Or just driving around Australia listening to great music, with great friends and camping out under the stars. Simple things, that's where it's at.

Teach, Learn, Share

Hmmm.. I suppose I've learned some interesting things in my philosophy degree, but more than anything I've learned that I know very little indeed. So don't expect any lectures from me. Love a good friendly debate, though.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see André's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile