Fotos de Benjamin Hayward

Parcialmente Verificado

  • Pagamento Verificado
  • Telefone Não Verificado
  • Documento de identidade não verificado
  • Endereço Não Verificado

Não Aceita Hóspedes

  • Último login há 3 days

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Benjamin. É grátis!

Visão geral

  • 137 Referência 103 Confirmado e Positivo
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Latin
  • 31, Male
  • Membro desde 2007
  • Magazine Editor, Freelance Writer
  • BA English, Creative Writing
  • De New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • Perfil 100% concluído

Sobre Mim

CURRENT MISSION

To live dynamically and successfully.

ABOUT ME

Everyone has a story and a unique way to tell it. I'm passionately empathetic, positive, and analytical. I love creativity, and sometimes try to live my life like a fiction.

In Canada, I surfed friends' couches for three months rather than paying rent so that I could save enough money on parttime editing to live abroad for six months. ...but of course I couldn't give up going to my friend's shows, drinking cheap beer by the river, or satisfying the munchies at 4am!

I'm houseless (rather than homeless) now, not sure where or even if I want to settle, and still working as an editor parttime. The cheaper I live and explore, the longer I can do it for.

I'm a writer in spirit more than practise, but I fill my notebooks with critical reflections and my Twitter with narrative doodles of my experiences. To the detriment of my productivity, I'm almost too much of an extrovert, always looking for the next party.

PHILOSOPHY

I define my life by my pursuit of happiness. I believe in the authenticity of self and the value of our individual experiences. I'm rational, atheistic, and existential, but I'm also silly, situationist, and more than a little postmodern.

If ever I don't think I will change, I at least hope that I will.

Por que estou no Couchsurfing?

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I spent three years in Canada hosting without ever turning down a surfer and never regretting a moment of it. I became a Local Ambassador for getting involved in the CS community there and making sure that CS values were being spread in my little corner of the country.

Now with no fixed address, I've shifted my status to Nomadic Ambassador. I took my hosting experiences with me and spent June and July hosting voraciously in a squat in London.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first surfed in 2007, and have since done so dozens of times. In between my occasional travels of the last five years, however, I've hosted hundreds of surfers and their friends between my former student house in Canada and my squat in London.

Interesses

In my life, I'm currently divided in interest between two poles: on the one hand, accomplishing, finding solutions, and persevering; on the other hand, being optimistic, adaptable, and a little bit hedonistic. It arises from the debate of whether one is happiest in life by pursuing goals or by adjusting one's goals to the simpler things in life. I'm undecided.

With that in mind, I love to write and to discuss, to drink and kick back, to paint and to pretend, to watch movies and to critique them, to dance and to stay active, to experience new things and to experiment, to meet new people and to have close friendships, and, finally, to experience new cultures and to define my own.

  • arts
  • writing
  • dancing
  • beer
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • painting
  • art history
  • history

Músicas, Filmes e Livros

Film is one of my favourite art forms, and I'm both very critical of and very enthusiastic about it. My favourite of the last year was Midnight in Paris for Allen's ontologically witty narrative, but I'll be a different person before I watch it again.

My favourite musical genres are currently Dubstep and Death Metal, but they're the just the two I got to see live most often over the past year.

Strangely, I write more than I read. I'd like to change that about myself, but it's been a struggle to be an efficient reader since I retain information visually more easily than verbally.

Uma Coisa Incrível que Eu Fiz

I swam on the Canadian coast in April to keep my dreadlocks tangled; I went in debt to study art history in Rome; I bought a plane ticket to another country 30 minutes before I had to be out the door; I flew across the ocean on a one-way ticket; I started a 5-floor squat in London with my brother; and most recently, I'm trying to live in Canada on a $0 budget.

Ensine, Aprenda, Compartilhe

I consider myself wise, but think also that I have a lot left to learn. I enjoy both teaching about what I know and developing it further with the wisdom of others.

The best connections, however, come out of sharing, and what I love to share most is an enthusiasm for life, it's adventures, and the experiences that come with it.

Países que Visitei

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Países em que Morei

Canada, United Kingdom

Insígnias de Veteranos

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    17 Atestars
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Insígnia de Pioneiro

Registre-se no Couchsurfing para ver o perfil completo de Benjamin. É grátis!

Meus Grupos