Samuel Wilson's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 50 references 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Polish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Teacher
  • BA in Anthropology, University of Texas at Austin
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a pretty swell traveler dude from Texas. I like weird places and interesting people. I've lived in 5 countries in the last 10 years, supporting myself mostly by teaching. I recently moved from Haikou to Chengdu, China.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting and learning from different kinds of people. I've also had a lot of people help me during my travels, and I'm eager to pay it forward by helping others when I can.

Interests

I'm interested in nearly anything connected with people, music, and travel (even better when they overlap). I especially love electronic music and I'm an occasional DJ. I studied anthropology at university with a focus on evolutionary psychology. I like smoking shisha. I love dancing and karaoke although I am terrible at both. Sometimes I ride a motorcycle.

  • karaoke
  • anthropology
  • techno
  • shisha

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Brian Transeau, James Murphy, Simon Posford, Thomas Bangalter, Stuart Price

Movies - Star Wars, Talladega Nights, Mean Girls, UHF, etc. I guess I like dumb comedies?

Books - I tend to read whatever people recommend to me

The OC is the best TV show of all time. Deal with it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I rode on the back of a truck for 3 days through the mountains and villages of Guinea to find "the Grand Canyon of West Africa." still the best adventure I've ever had

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you all about Texas and America if you're interested. I can also tell you about the other unique places I've lived.

I teach English, and I'm happy to help anyone who is learning English (speaking, grammar, writing, etc).

I'm pretty good with Windows and various types of software, so I can help with computer stuff.

I know a lot about electronic music (history, technology, etc). I also know a bit about music recording and production.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can try to make proper Tex-Mex breakfast tacos, depending on the ingredients available in your area :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Bahrain, Belize, Bulgaria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guinea, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Senegal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Samuel’s full profile.