Logo orange

Daniel Grill

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 86 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Finnish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • landscape constructor
  • engineer
  • From Regensburg, Bavaria, Germany, Europe
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Improving my Finnish.
Visiting 2015 every city library in Helsinki (37) plus at least 15 others.
Visiting 2015 at least 12 places in Finland, I haven't been, yet plus at least five outside of Finland
Visiting every country in Europe (10 left)

ABOUT ME

I keep things simple and easy, so people who know me describe me also as an easy guy. I solve my daily challenges. I like to look over the horizon by travelling, learning, meeting people.
I'm nice to the people and try to learn from all of them. So I'm positive but realistic guy who is able to dream. The rest we talk about by a cup of tasting tea, cooking something together or a walk outside.
It is amazing what solutions for problems you can find.

PHILOSOPHY

My motto in life: Education never ends
Education is for development, and that never ends. The

I am responsible for my life and it's up me to change what I dislike in my lifekeep the body strong and the mind clear and open.And the most important thing: be nice to the world and the world is nice to you (it works! :))

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I can show people Helsinki, I also like to give advices for Regensburg and Freising, both nice and cosy towns in Bavaria I lived for years. Have an open hear, inspire people to find creative solutions, gardening and landscape construction. Unfortunately I might be able to host, I have need to ask my flatmates before I can say yes.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I made a European tour 10 months, visited 31 countries and surfed 95 (and I still remember all of them) places in 27 countries via CS and I met plenty of people. I stayed also in places friends without CS. By far the people I met made this tour unforgetable. Great stories, awesome exchange of ideas and unbelievable inspiration. And the best via CS I met my girlfriend by surfing in the same place.:)

Interests

botanic, landscape and environmental features and their interchange with sociaty and social issues
politics, geography, (local) history, archaeology,
(industrial) architecture and probably my weirdest interest: flags.
It varies from time to time at the moment I'm keen to get into pencil drawing and boomerang making.
And of course travelling but I have the attitude that no place is too unspectacular for not visiting it, as long I can sit down from time to time and drink a tea I'm basically happy.

Music, Movies & Books

movies and so on: Austrian cinema and all kinds of local cinema like
"Grenzverkehr" or "Wer früher stirbt ist länger tod" from my home region Bavaria.
Furthermore
"Le Dessous des cartes", "The Great Dictator", "Control", "The Wrestler",
musik: I love the Finlandia from Sibelius also Santa Diver, Moriaty, Calexico
but to be honest music is not something I'm really into.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

hiked world's biggest peat bog in Siberia;
found the village where my parents married on picture in the Hermitage in Saint Petersburg;
Saw the Forth Railway Bridge with my own eyes;
Impressed by the catherdral of Durham;
saw brown grass wipping in the wind in Chuja steppe in Altay Mountains
crossed more than 25times the border between Belgium and Netherlands within 5 hours (at 25 I stopped to count)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach someting about, gardening, landscape construction, geography. I want to improve my Finnish and later on learning some other languages like Russian or Serbian/Croatian/Bosnian/Montenegrin and one really weird, exotic language which most people haven't heard at all.

What I Can Share With Hosts

We could talk about cooking, exchange travel experience, I'm always curious for new ideas. I also like good conversations, the topic depends on the people but shouldn't be a problem to find something. :)

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Finland, Germany, Hungary

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile