Sander Tunnessen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 90% response rate
  • Last login 5 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sander’s full profile.

Overview

  • 85 references 53 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student / Project Support
  • MSc Supply Chain Management
  • From Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey! I'm Sander, 25 years old, currently living/working/studying in Tilburg. Nice to meet you!

MISSIONS:
1; Finish MSc Supply Chain in Tilburg Dec 2022
2; Start my own freelance business (tips, anyone??)
3; Travel the world

HOW I GOT INTO TRAVELING:

During my first year at university (2015) it took quite some time for me to get used to university way of life. I felt uncomfortable, lacking the self-confidence.
Throughout the preparations of the finals I felt quite stressed and at some point I decided that I just wanted to go, escape, travel and do something completely different.
Right after, I made the decision to go to France to work as a volunteer for a month during that summer (2016)

It was definitely the best choice so far :)

I had such an amazing time during that summer😇, as I met wonderful people, learned a lot and - particularly - realised that there's so much more to discover than just my routine life at home!

When I came back home from France I decided I did not want to be that type of student that just takes the studies, goes to the parties and works to earn some money to pay the rent from.
No, I decided I wanted to do more than that: travel, learn more about people, cultures and countries, and see more of the world, as it was the routine and lack of newness that made me feel unhappy and stressed during that first year at university.

From that moment I started traveling throughout my years at university, making (short) trips and journeys regularly, highly focused on my personal development.

And here I am now, 7 years after my turbulent start at university, at the final stage of uni, ready to take on the next adventure!

WHAT I LIKE TO DO:

Discovering, new impressions and challenges are important values for me. I'm in the growth mindset, all day, every day.

That's why I like to discover new places and meet new people. I'm always in for something new. Ready to pack my bag to go on adventure and step out of that comfort zone :)
Besides that, I love to solve puzzles, hang out with friends and play board/card games. I'm not a great cook, but I think it's just fun to experiment in the kitchen and enjoy your own prepared meal afterwards :) (together with others).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I decided to become a member of Couchsurfing after my two-months volunteering in France in 2017. During my stay several travelers told me about their experience with the platform and told me that it would be something for me as well. I got curious and decided to sign up.

So yeah, here I am.

I started going to Couchsurfing events in my home town and I met some really nice people there. They were all very open and it was fun to experience. I love the fact that Couchsurfing is the platform that actually brings different people together who are all willing to meet other people.

Interests

  • board games
  • puzzles
  • entrepreneurship
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • road trips
  • adventure
  • personal development
  • different cultures
  • meeting new people
  • video editing
  • management
  • personal growth
  • problem solving
  • supply chain
  • growth mindset

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC:
Favourite artist: KYGO!
Pop, country, folk, americana, jazz. A really broad taste in music. As long as it's not techno I'm fine :) What I like about music is that there's always something new to listen to. One can always put on a new genre and listen to new music.

MOVIES/BOOKS:
To be honest, I'm not that much into movies. I like action-related movies and sometimes I watch a documentary. I do like most of the Dutch series broadcasted on TV.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Stepped out of my comfort zone and developed a growth-mindset

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you the basics of the Dutch language and tell you more about the culture and the country. If I have time I can show you around!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Well, basically the same as the 'Teach, Learn, Share'-part, and I can also make a typical Dutch meal :)
Besides that, I really like to talk about life and listen to everyone's unique story in life

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Côte d'Ivoire, Netherlands, Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Sander’s full profile.