Logo orange

Santiago Barreiro

Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires City, Argentina

Accepting Guests

Last login about 18 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Santiago's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Icelandic, Norwegian Bokmål
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Postdoctoral Researcher
  • PhD
  • From Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

get a phd.

ABOUT ME

I am a historian with a particular interest in the Scandinavian middle ages and economic anthropology. Currently working on my phd. I like books, listening to music, playing guitar, good beer & wine, peace, historical monuments and sites, games, thinking and talking. I am quite into politics and philosophy, and enjoy discussing those topics. I tend to prefer people with strong personality and some sense of humor. I generally do not like people too interested in their looks, nor those which never express their point of view on anything.

PHILOSOPHY

Kind of a rationalist. Politically, a moderate leftist.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I´ve been a member of CS before, hosted a few people while I lived in Iceland. I surfed for the first time in the summer 2012 in Aarhus, and it was a wonderful experience.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Generally positive, met some interesting people in Reykjavík, Buenos Aires and Aarhus. I only had a single bad experience.

Interests

History. Painting. Anthropology. Music. Politics. Architecture. Philosophy. Beer.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: Too many to make a list. Favourite is Essai sur le don ("The gift") by M. Mauss. Movies: I generally do not like movies, but there are around 20 exceptions, and I enjoy discovering. I usually find Hollywood movies stupid. Music: Almost everything. Strong preferences for grunge and alt. rock. Fav. bands are probably PJ harvey, Pearl Jam and Tool at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Being 8 years old, looked up into a gothic cathedral somewhere in spain. Pure awesomeness.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach history (duh!), and some language (is anybody there into Old Norse?). Maybe some basics of guitar playing. I´d like to learn German, and practice French and Scandinavian languages.

What I Can Share With Hosts

food, beer, walks, talks

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Iceland

Join Couchsurfing to see Santiago's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile