Sara West's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Swanage, Dorset, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To stretch life's rubber band to the max (or at least a little bit more than what I already have)


I'm currently in Oulu, Finland as an exchange student, and hoping to see as much of this country (and the neighbouring ones) while I'm here.

I really love meeting new people, sightseeing and experiencing new cultures, and learning new skills. Sometimes this leads to me looking kind of silly but it's all part of the fun. I spend as much time in nature as possible, I love walking in forests and fields. I'm not really a party animal but I love to get together with friends and watch movies, cook, do handicrafts or just drink tea.

Whenever I visit a new place the first thing I research is the kind of museums and art galleries that they have. The second is interesting places to eat. I'm quite shy sometimes but I'm really friendly and I love making people laugh and creating a happy atmosphere - I always try and see the positive in a situation!

ps. no creeps please. seriously, I'm not interested.


I like to try and face my fears, rather than living with regret. I try to just jump in rather than worrying and coming up with reasons not to do something when I'm afraid.

I strongly believe that you should treat people the same way that you want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I can't host because I live in a tiny apartment and don't have anywhere for guests, but I'm happy to meet for coffee or day trips if anyone's nearby =)


I like reading (although I always get more books from the library than I can actually manage to read), I love music, especially watching it live, I play guitar when I can and on the weekends I can usually be found walking somewhere in nature. I also love Studio Ghibli movies, train journeys and animals.

  • animals
  • arts
  • books
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • coach
  • walking
  • partying
  • drinking
  • movies
  • reading
  • music
  • guitar
  • sightseeing
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Far too many favourites, I'm a complete music/movie/book junkie.

Some books/authors I really like:
Philip Pullman, Scarlett Thomas, Jane Austen, Dorothy Parker, Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse, Staying Alive (poetry anthology), Carol Ann Duffy, Thomas Hardy

I'm addicted to music, at the moment I'm really into Laura Marling, Mumford and Sons, and Polly Paulusma, but some of my real favourites and Idlewild, Rilo Kiley, Jacob Borschard, Pulp, R.E.M, Vampire Weekend, The Editors and Joy Division.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taking a 12 hour coach to Scotland and seeing so many beautiful parts of England. The sunrise on the way back over the mountains was amazing.

The Valley of Rocks in Lynmouth in fantastic and well worth a visit, it's so beautiful and the wild goats are so cute.

Moving to Finland for a year!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Estonia, Finland, Norway, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups