Sara Miller's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • cycling to and exploring new places
  • BA Environmental Studies (me) BA Film/Anthropology (Garrett)
  • From Billings, MT (me) Hillsboro, OR (Garrett)
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Cycling around the US with my partner Garrett

ABOUT ME

My partner Garrett and I are cycling around the US beginning with the Northern Tier in Anacortes, WA and pedaling east to Bar Harbor, ME. We will be following a route suggested by the Adventure Cycling Association that follows the north-most border of the US. Our goal is to raise awareness about the plight of the indigenous in Ecuador who have fought bravely for the past 18 years to defend their culture, environment, and livelihoods from the rampant pollution caused by Chevron/Texaco. Our story is told further on cyclingforwater.com/cyclingforunity

PHILOSOPHY

Garrett and I both believe in the connection between human beings, our non-human wild/domestic friends, Mother Earth and the actions that we take daily in having a big-picture effect. We live in a manner and motto of do no harm and no judgement. We love hanging out with ranchers and bohemians alike. Peace be the journey.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We are brand spanking NEW to couchsurfing and are both wonderful, outgoing people who are always willing to cook a meal, clean, do dishes, etc. We would love to be shown the sights around any community if you are willing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None yet, but we will be experts by the end of our trip and would love to host in the future.

Interests

Cycling, hiking, camping, animals, wildlife, sports, music (particularly live), abroad and domestic travel, good beer/wine, books, yoga, storytelling, exploring an area with locals, gardening, sustainable living, permaculture, community service, alternative medicine, tattoos, and indigenous cultures.

  • animals
  • wildlife
  • culture
  • books
  • tattoos
  • education
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • yoga
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • teaching
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

Garrett and I both enjoy live music immensely especially bluegrass, alternative, indie, and world. We both read often and enjoy many varieties of books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sara: Surviving a 2 night, 3 day solo in India and watching the sun rise over the western Ghats on the last morning.

Garrett: circumnavigated the world by ship living with a shaman in the Amazon, service projects in Africa, hiking in SE Asia, fallen in love with people, plants, animals and cultures the world over.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: how to grow food, build permaculture systems, nature-based education
Learn: bee keeping skills, off-the-grid building/living techniques (ie: water catchment, storing food, raising goats)
Share: We are not carrying much that we can give but we can knit a scarf, cook meals, and love caring for animals, if there is an instrument nearby Garrett is a lovely musician.

Join Couchsurfing to see Sara’s full profile. It’s free!