Logo orange

Sarah's Groups

Sarah Kruis

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Biology and Environmental Sciences
  • From Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My first Christmas away from home and I want to explore NZ and meet some great people with a great sense of humour and sense of adventure and trade stories and knowledge!

ABOUT ME

Hello!!!!

I'm from Canada and spending a few months in New Zealand doing field work with people from the University of Canterbury.

I am very playful and like to have fun. I am super easy to get along with and am a genuinely kind person. I love learning about other people and swapping stories. I love music and I play the guitar and sing (to the best of my ability).

I enjoy hiking/tramping, biking, camping, canoeing and all sorts of outdoor activities. I am up for anything and will try almost anything new. I love plants and animals and especially like catching them to get a closer look! (haha)

I like to poke fun at people who have a good sense of humour and I really love to laugh.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that the world is ours to share and the people we share it with is the only reason to be here.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would love to get to know you and know a bit more about New Zealand. I will work for my keep and have no problem cooking and doing dishes. If we get along well and you find yourself needing a place to stay in Canada you've got one!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have no couchsurfing experience.. this is my very first time so far away from home and in a new country where I know nobody!
I'm nice, I swear!

Interests

Hiking/Tramping
Biking
Camping
Canoeing
Climbing
Snorkelling
Baking
Playing guitar/singing
Having good conversation
Learning about you and your country!

Music, Movies & Books

I've been listening to Iron & Wine for a while now. Great to play on guitar! I like anything acoustic and I really like classic rock.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Goodness, what "amazing" things have I been up to these past 22 years? If I put an exclamation point at the end does that make it more exciting?

I have:

-survived 22 Canadian winters!

-helped my parents build our timber frame house including one summer bricking!

-graduated from university with a Bachelors degree in biology and environmental sciences!

-completed a research project on spaghetti worms at Half Moon Caye, Belize!

-worked and/or volunteered doing scientific research on swallowtail butterflies, flesh flies, Canadian prarie grasses, black bears, American badgers, mountain plants of New Zealand.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can bake some pretty badass chocolate chip cookies.
I would love to play music with you, if you play, and we can swap songs and styles.
I would love to learn about the biology/geoegraphy/history of the area.
I would love to learn about wines.
I would love to go snorkelling and trade knowledge of marine life.

Countries I've Visited

Belize, New Zealand

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile