Sarah Hucal

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah ’s full profile. It’s free!


  • journalist/singer/traveler
  • M.A. Global Studies, Humboldt University Berlin; Bachelor...
  • From Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Straight chillin in Berlin


I've come to the conclusion that I'm addicted to travel. I can't seem to get enough, and although I've tried to quit several times, nothing else has taken its place. My piggy bank disagrees with me, but oh well, C'est la vie!

I lived in Berlin sang Opera for a year,then lived in Brooklyn and worked as a journalist. I'm now doing an M.A. in Global Studies at Humboldt University in Berlin and am spending a semester in Buenos Aires and another in Bangkok as part of my program.

I've done a fair amount of solo travel around western Europe and the Balkans in the last few years and there is much to be said. I've met such great people from all over the world through CS, many of them are my dearest friends today.

I love love love MUSIC (all types although I have a degree in operatic singing). Other enjoyable things include befriending interesting and open minded people, learning about new places and cultures. I also love Karaoke (and I'm NOT a good pop singer) and am always looking for people to join me :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've met so many great people through CS; I always love a good cross-cultural conversation or language exchange.


I've slept on a couch or two in my day and have been hosted by some amazing CSers in France, Spain, Austria, Hungary, Bulgaria, Romania, Germany and Italy. Lets keep the good times rollin', shall we?


I don't ever want to stop seeing the world. Also, I started doing yoga everyday and love it (I know, so cliche).

Music, Movies, and Books

All Cormack McCarthy and David Sedaris, plus The New Yorker Magazine, which I read every week. I also try to read German and Italian books to keep up with my language skills. I also read a lot of news!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done


Teach, Learn, Share

I'll be great company - I'm very polite and easy going. I can sing you an opera song (or maybe another genre request, whatever you prefer).

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, India, Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups