Sasha .'s Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sasha’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Russian; learning Armenian, Croatian
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • existing
  • m.a eastern european studies
  • From Bielefeld, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm not good at all this describing stuff, so I let others write for me.
Somebody once said to me: "You're like a turtle that made it to sea without knowing French." I don't know what exactly he wanted to say with this, but I'm sure it's pretty accurate.

// "What the hell is instant? Nothing is instant. Instant rice takes five minutes, instant pudding an hour. I doubt that an instant of blinding pain feels particularly instanteneous."
- John Green, Looking for Alaska

// "It's no good crying over spilt milk, because all the forces of the universe were bent on spilling it."
- W. Somerset Maugham, Of Human Bondage

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know people, receive inspiration on which country to visit next and experience the city I'm in through the eyes of a local.
Also, I usually travel alone and by hitch-hiking, which means I spend an awfully long time waiting at abandoned places all by myself, so I really enjoy some cool company once I stop somewhere.

Once I get a couch, I'll host people in Berlin, I promise. I just moved back from Russia and don't have much furniture yet. In any case, I might be able to direct you to someone who can host you (in Saint Petersburg, that is). Just feel free to ask.

Interests

I enjoy playing football and I enjoy drawing and painting - I'm really interested in arts and music as well and everything around it. Also, like everyone else here, obviously, I really love traveling and the concept of Couchsurfing. (This is, for instance, how I randomly decided to start learning Welsh. Shwmae, Cymry!)

  • arts
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

I really love Fight Club. And Inception. And Matrix, Star Wars, stuff like that. But in particular, I love books. I'm not one of those people who spend all their time watching series, I'm one of those who are always broke because there are so many books worth having. My ultimate loved ones are 'Looking for Alaska', 'The Catcher in the Rye', 'The Fountainhead' and 'The Perks of Being A Wallflower'.
Music is difficult. I love different kinds of music in different situations. When I'm in a good mood, I like Indie. Kooks, Arctic Monkeys, stuff like that. When I'm thoughtful, I like Frank Turner. When I feel a little blue, I like People in Planes. My favorite band is Rise Against, but my favorite live Band is Anti-Flag. When I go dancing, I like electronic music. Kollektiv Turmstrasse, Netsky, Chase & Status, Siriusmodeselector, The Glitch Mob, to name a few. In general, I'm always happy to hear suggestions, unless you like Rihanna, then please refrain.
Okay, I guess that works.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The pleasure of hitch-hiking always amazes me.

Teach, Learn, Share

So there are not so many things I am specialized in, but what I am rather good at is cooking, so if you want to improve your skills I'm happy to share my knowledge with you.
Also, since I've been traveling around Europe a lot, if you are uncertain which country to visit next, I may help you with sharing my experiences so far.

Most of all, since I'm German and stuff (stereotypes ahoi!), I can teach you how to open a bottle with nearly anything. (A lighter, for instance, to start with.)

If you happen to be Welsh and speak Welsh and maybe want to learn a bit German or Russian, leave a message!

What I Can Share with Hosts

My unconditional love for food, reading and adventuring. (Also: a beer.)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Sasha’s full profile.

My Groups