Seema Rupani's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Seema’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Legal Fellow at legal services non-profit
  • J.D. Berkeley Law
  • From Oakland, CA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Radical love

ABOUT ME

Hi, I'm Seema. I grew up here in the bay area and have roots in many parts of the world. I enjoy traveling and meeting new people, seeing new places, etc, but right now I want to stay put for a while. I have been an organizer for several years, currently I do research on issues of food politics, and I just finished applying to law schools. In my "free time" I love going on hikes, dancing to hip-hop and r&b jams, cooking, hanging out with family and friends, and chillin out with my cats.

As a guest, I'm responsible, clean, and respectful of people's space, but I also enjoy socializing and getting to know new folks. I'm chilled out and easy-going. I love cooking for people if I have the time and right ingredients.

PHILOSOPHY

There is no passion to be found playing small - in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.
-Nelson Mandela

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted tons of surfers at the last few co-operative houses I lived in, in Berkeley and Oakland, but I don't have them on my profile because a lot of them were through my roommates' cs accounts. I've managed to meet some amazing people through CS, some who I've kept in touch and become friends with.

Interests

Politics. Meditation. Hiking. Cooking and Eating. 90's Hip-hop and R&B. Animals.

  • animals
  • cats
  • dancing
  • womens rights
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • meditation
  • politics
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • hiking
  • emergency services
  • law
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Right now I'm reading All About Love by Bell Hooks

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching the sun rise over the sand dunes in Sossuvlei, Namibia. Getting tear gassed by the police at Occupy Oakland. Doing a 10 day silent meditation retreat in Himachal Pradesh, India.

Teach, Learn, Share

-how to be a healthy vegan, on a working-class budget
-organizing 101 (community/campus organizing)
-basic meditation practice

What I Can Share with Hosts

You tell me

Countries I’ve Visited

Botswana, Canada, England, India, Lesotho, Namibia, Nepal, South Africa, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Africa, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Seema’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups