Logo orange

SevyDevi

Orlando, FL, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

68% response rate · Last login 14 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SevyDevi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Arabic (Egypt), Chinese, French, Hindi, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Professional Belly & Bollywod Dancer...
  • College - Graphics and Interactive D...
  • From ...Everywhere.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The never-ending pursuit of knowledge.

ABOUT ME

If it's one thing I find harrowing, it's describing myself. So, how about what you may expect of me should we meet in person?

FOR POTENTIAL HOSTS:

❥ For one, I'll probably ask you a lot of questions, because you are more than likely inherently fascinating and I would like to know more about you. I would probably be interested in any books you may have, too.

❥ I am usually calm and rather introverted, but incredibly energetic and indefatigable in certain situations.

❥ I seem to have a knack for making people laugh when I am not trying. When I do actually try, however...perhaps not so much.

❥ I'm a tidy person, so expect me to clean up after myself (or others).

❥ I love animals, and will probably fawn over your pets.

❥ I sleep late and wake relatively early (unless, of course, I'm suffering from some horrid jet-lag). The ungodly amount of tea that I drink probably has something to do with this.

❥ I manage a Youtube show/vlog, so I'll be filming extensively through my travels, and I will probably spend a bit of time at my computer video editing. Edit: Since some ask, it's here: http://www.youtube.com/sevydevi

❥ I get drunk if I so much as smell alcohol. However, I will enjoy a glass of wine in extreme moderation.

❥ Sevy is short for "Sevdha." I do have a nickname, so you may see references to a certain "Rose" on my profile/references. That's me.

❥ I do not mind sharing space with other couchsurfers...within reason, of course!

❥ I may reside in the United States, but I am not really "American". I find that my hosts prefer to claim my home country instead of the United States, since they rarely (if ever) encounter a surfer from there.

❥ I have been graciously hosted b wonderful hosts, and will soon look forward to returning the favour!

❥ I'm on the Book of Face. Feel free to say hello!: Sevy Devi

FOR POTENTIAL SURFERS:

I am a lone female living with an older female roommate who is not always comfortable with guests, so I have to be very selective about surfers. This is why my couch "Maybe" open.

❥ Please don't request too far ahead in advance. My schedule is very mercurial and I never know what I will be up to a month from now.

❥ The room you will get belonged to my little stepsister who is no longer here. Her influence still is, though, so hope you don't mind a super girly room. But at least you'll have your own room!

❥ Have at least a couple of references for surfing, please. I hope you understand! I do realize it is a bit of a Catch-22, so if you'd like to build your references, I would not mind meeting you to give a friendly reference!

❥ You have a better chance of getting a couch here if you either speak a language I am trying to learn, are female, have good references...well, don't have much of criteria.

❥ Not a requirement, of course, but I love/collect teas, and if you can bring some loose tea from your region, I'd very, very, very, very much appreciate it!

PHILOSOPHY

The everlasting pursuit of knowledge, honing my skills and talents, learning from others, sharing whatever knowledge I have to others in return, and making them laugh!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I travel frequently as a performer but would love to broaden my horizons. Whenever I am able, I would certainly return the favour to others. In the interim, I'd appreciate the assistance and be able to forge lasting relationships with people all over the world. I have read, 'How to be a Good Guest', and various articles on and off-site.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Overall extremely positive! I've met loads of wonderful friends thus far, attended great events (well, mostly in Paris), and my travels would not have been nearly as wonderful if it were not for the couchsurfing experience.

Interests

Tea, Animals, Musical Instruments, Languages, Drawing, Bollywood, Research, Japan, Food, Tea, Challenges, Anime/Manga, Belly Dance, Tea... I must have mentioned tea somewhere in there. Video Games, Minty confections, Puzzles, Reading, warm socks, fractals, tea, and not listing my interests.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: "World Music" - Indian, Reggae, Soca, Chutney, Japanese Reggae, Classical, DnB, Dubstep, etc.

Books: I have an addiction to puzzle books.

Movies: Devdas, Fanaa, Dostana...Anything funny. Will think of more later...Then again, 'Devdas' and 'Fanaa' wouldn't really be the epitome of funny.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Performing in various events and meeting amazing new people, living in Japan, visiting the temples, skirting death a few times, going to the upper 'country' parts of Jamaica where no toilets exist, etc.

Teach, Learn, Share

Let's share! Perhaps I could teach you dance. Perhaps I could fix your technology. Perhaps I could teach you quite a bit about Caribbean, Indian, and certain other cultures. Perhaps we could be language buddies. Perhaps I can even teach you how to illustrate. I'm pretty much a game Jane-of-all-Trades.

Countries I've Visited

Belize, Canada, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Honduras, Morocco, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Jamaica, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see SevyDevi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile