Alison Sims's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 46, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Archaeologist or Digger
  • BA in Anthropology, Minor in English
  • From Lafayette, LA USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Starving Archaeologist Trying to get to the Next Job Site

ABOUT ME

I am currently involved in Cultural Resource Management which is basically contract Archaeology and it requires me to travel quite a bit to some rural areas that no one has heard about. I have worked all over the Southeast and I have a future excavation in Ohio if I can find a way to Maysville KY. I am also obsessed with pastry arts and I am defnitely the baker in my family. Right now I am a field Technician, but I hope to earn a certification in GIS and to continue my education in nutritional or culinary anthropology.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe in being compassionate towards others and offering assistance when someone is in trouble. I believe that the most important thing in my life is my family and friends and not my social status or material belongings.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I was refered to this site by a family friend. I will be traveling soon, so I cannot host until I return in November. I also heard that there are rideshares on this site. I do not drive, but I am in an awful predicament. I was offered a job in OH for 2 months. The company pays for our motel in Maysville, KY (Yeah I never heard of it either);however, I may need assistance in arriving there. There are literally no buses, planes or shuttles that go there. I would possibly need a ride from Cincinnati OH or Lexington KY on Sept 7. I may also need a ride from Maysville KY to Cincinnati airport on Oct 29 or 30 for a flight I am catching to Gainesville FL for Fest 2008. I will pay for all gas. I know that it is 60-75 miles away from either Lexington or Cincinnati. I will even buy you a meal.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My mother's best friend hosts and she has only good things to say about this network. I also worked with two people that used this site for places to stay in FL.

Interests

Archaeology, forensic anthopology, political activism, animal rights, pastry arts, photography, reading, writing, live music and film.

  • animals
  • arts
  • writing
  • photography
  • education
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • anthropology
  • archeology
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

These are numerous and I would not know where to begin. I mostly list to punk, postpunk, hardcore, metal,indie,etc. I am very eclectic, but I grew up in the 80's and listened to alot of political punk that framed my ideology but does not really reflect all of my musical tastes. I worked in a record store for 6 years so I have seen many artists. I love movies like Wings of Desire though my friends think it is stupid, off the wall documentaries like Grey Gardens, Old horror from Argento and Romero, independent films by Miranda July and Asian Horror and suspense like Miike. I am currently reading Foucault's Archaeology of Knowledge, but I plan on reading Karen Lillis' I, Srorpion. I love discovering new writers, but I also love HP Lovecraft, Clive Barker, Gabriel Garcia-Marquez, Virginia Woolf, Sylvia Plath, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have escaped many brushed with wild animals doing my job and I have also learned how to climb fences.

Join Couchsurfing to see Alison’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups