Sharon East's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sharon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 61, Female
  • Member since 2019
  • charity worker
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello :) I was born in England, but have lived most of my life in Australia and more recently France. I have spent much of my life working for NGOs, especially on environmental campaigns and also in organic agriculture. Last year I moved to Afghanistan to help found a charity to offer educational support to working street children. With the recent deterioration of the security situation in Afghanistan, I had to leave and I am currently travelling in Rwanda with my Afghan boyfriend, Elias.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love the opportunity to meet local people, and learn about the culture and the environment where I am staying.

Interests

  • cooking
  • walking
  • art and craft
  • nature and environment
  • cultural traditions

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Life of Pi, Delicatessen, Chocolat, Some Like it Hot
Books: Anything intriguing, magical, educational...
Music: Anything passionate, danceable or both!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hmmm... probably the single most amazing moment of my life, was having a humpback whale swim between my legs, as I sat on the bow of a small boat, just off the coast from my home in Australia :) The water was very shallow, and as the whale passed under the boat, the boat lifted up out of the water. The whale then came up alongside and blew... and we got soaked! We spent the whole day, just us in our little sailboat, with this group of whales. It was so special!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love sharing travel and life stories, my knowledge of gardening, cooking, arts... I have taught yoga for nearly thirty years and I'm always happy to share a class with my hosts :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, United States, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Afghanistan, Australia, England, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Sharon’s full profile.