Harlingen, Friesland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shere_Y_Paul’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Spanish, Western Frisian; learning French, Italian
  • 35, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Shere is BI consultant, while Paul spends his time in log...
  • No education listed
  • From Madrid (Shere) and Harlingen (Paul)
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me


During our studies, we were moving around different countries. We ended up working in Dusseldorf, where we met. Each of us spent there 6 years and in a way Dusseldorf feels like our second home. In 2008 Paul moved back to the Netherlands and I followed him in 2010.
We live in Harlingen, a very nice coastal city which has a ferry, connecting the mainland with two of the Dutch North Sea Islands: Vlieland and Terschelling. The city is lovely and one of the “eleven Frisian cities”. In summer, there’re many “11 cities races” covering around 230km in one day either by bike, by old timer, by motorbike, walking, rowing… and in winter ice-skating if all the channels are frozen.
As much as we love living here, we also love travelling and meeting people. We wouldn’t join a totally organized trip, we prefer to go somewhere and just see where we get. We normally take two travel books: I take the lonely planet for the practical things and Paul takes the DK guide for the cultural part.


We enjoy sailing in the summer and ice-skating in the winter. We’re not that experienced sailors, but good enough to rent a small sailing boat and spend a day on the water.
Paul has an obsession for Peugeot cars. He bought an old 205 and his hobby now is to take all parts apart and maybe someday put them back together.

I like photography and cooking (even won a cooking contest with my “chai-wine” cupcakes).

We also love eating and new food. Wherever we go, we try out as much as we can from the local menu.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saw a lioness eating a giraffe from an open jeep, we were so close that could hear the noise of the bones while breaking in the lioness’ mouth.
Been in the celebration of an Indian weeding.
Taken a boat in the Mekong Delta to cross from Vietnam to Cambodia.

Teach, Learn, Share

We can teach some Dutch and Spanish, cooking

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Shere_Y_Paul’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups