Sheyda Porter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sheyda’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Turkish; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Artist/Curator
  • Master of Arts
  • From Istanbul, Turkey
  • Profile 70% complete

About Me

I’m originally from Turkey and have lived in Newcastle for eleven years. I’m an artist; I do sculpture and mostly work on collaborative curatorial projects and hold a studio in the city centre.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A newcomer to Couchsurfing! I believe in equal exchange and openly sharing one’s assets and resources for positive societal growth. Couchsurfing seems to fit my ethics in that sense. I’m also currently deciding where I want to live next, so I want to explore as many places as possible, wherever in the world that may be.

Interests

  • poetry
  • contemporary art
  • photography
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • vegan
  • reading
  • eating out
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • art history
  • philosophy
  • indie music
  • sculpture
  • fine arts
  • independent cinema
  • anarchism
  • memes
  • aesthetics

Music, Movies, and Books

I’m a huge indie fan! The bands I would never get tired of listening to- in no particular order;
Okkervil River
Neutral Milk Hotel
The Magnetic Fields
Yo La Tengo

I also enjoy well made, thought provoking films- and lucky enough to live right around the corner from a great arthouse cinema which I definitely recommend visiting.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you’re from an arts background I can recommend cool galleries and artist led organisations to check out. Also, I have a huge library of art books you can freely enjoy during your stay.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a self contained studio flat conveniently located in the city centre of Newcastle. An amazing location for those who want to explore the city, eat out, drink, see some art, etc. As my space is only big enough for an individual- or a couple, I’m looking to swap apartments with people in other cities, either in the U.K. or in Europe. Short visits, mostly.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Germany, Italy, Sweden, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Turkey, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sheyda’s full profile. It’s free!