Jessica John's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 8 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Japanese
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Translating, consulting, learning
  • BA from Willamette University in math and Chinese
  • From Beaverton, OR
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Preparing for next big adventure

ABOUT ME

Jess: I'm a Beaverton, OR native with a penchant for travel and adventure. I've just returned from living and working in NE China for the last 3.5 years. It was there where I found my beloved husband Shibo and decided to bring him home with me.
I'm still working on figuring out what I want to do with my life so for the time being, I'm working as a translator while staying healthy and keeping my mind fresh, sharp and open to new opportunities. My release comes from swimming and exercise and I'm an avid puzzle solver.

Shibo (nickname "Shimmy") is a Shenyang, China native and a graduate of Liaoning University. He was a champion javelin thrower in college and is now an accomplished dogwalker. :) Shibo loves helping people and making others laugh and is probably the most positive and optimistic person you'll ever meet. He's a great Chinese chef and is quickly becoming a master of English idioms. Shibo is an avid movie fan and loves to go shopping in his spare time.

We both love dogs, trying new things and meeting interesting people. We are currently living with family while we make the transition to life in the US and we look forward to our future adventures together.

PHILOSOPHY

There are only a few things in life that are really truly under our control. The rest is up to fate and the choices of others. Everyone is just trying to do the best they can, so just be honest, live simply, helpful when you can, realistic while staying positive and well, that's the best that anyone can hope for.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We are new to Couchsurfing, but are so excited about this community and being a part of it. For now, we are going to be doing more surfing than hosting, but plan to open our home and "couch" to others once we are settled more permanently.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've spent a lot of time with host families in China and Japan and have appreciated the experience to learn about local culture through an expert. One woman in particular while I was living alone in China took me in as her daughter and taught me to shop and barter, where to purchase and how to cook with local foods and how to live more comfortably like a local Chinese person. It really helped me assimilate and helped set the tone for the rest of my time in China.

Interests

Swimming
Rowing
Basketball
Reading
Watching movies
Playing with dogs
Window shopping
Learning foreign languages
Exploring new places

  • dogs
  • culture
  • cooking
  • exercise
  • shopping
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • basketball
  • swimming
  • rowing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Shibo likes all kinds of movies, especially drama and action. We both like Coldplay and Jess especially likes 80's rock. Jess will read just about anything, but recently really likes Malcolm Gladwell books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

On Shibo's first entry into the US (and first experience abroad), Shibo and Jess almost got separated while connecting and going through Canadian customs. There was a mixup with our connecting flights and Shibo didn't have a proper Canadian visa to get to the next gate. After a border crossing fine, a very tense few hours and a stern promise never to leave him alone in a secured area again, Shibo made it through safely and we were on to Portland!

Countries I’ve Visited

China

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Japan, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!