Shirley Famelli

State of Amazonas, Brazil

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Biologist / Herpetologist
  • MSc. Applied Ecology / PhD Conservation Biology
  • From São Paulo, State of São Paulo
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Save Earth! It's the only planet with chocolate!!!


Since I was a kid I use to think I must do something useful for this planet... I don't know if I'm on the right way, trying though... So I am a Biologist studying Ecology of reptiles, amphibians (they are awesome!) and endangered species and ecosystems.

got a PhD, became a Ninja and now I'm using my skills in the Amazon Forest! ;)


I leave and get a little about each person who cross my path. =)

"No point in going to church, do yoga and do not greet the doorman."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


"My one mighty travel talent is that I can make friends with anybody. I'm just saying.... I can do it. This is why I'm not afraid to travel to the most remote places in the world, not if there are human beings there to meet. People asked me before I left for 'NZ'.... 'Do you have friends in Auckland?' and I would just shake my head no, thinking to myself, But I will!"
Elizabeth Gilbert
It's about me too! Hehe! =D


I can't find words to describe how much I enjoy everything about it (see my pics about my CS experience around OZ).

I lived in Melbourne, Australia, with a really active CS (I was one of his surfers!). It was a crazy experience meeting new people every DAY! He used to have 13 CSurfers at once! Yes! I meant that! 13 or more people a day in a small flat, one bathroom! Crazy days!


I really enjoy traveling and meeting new people and new culture. It makes me feel alive!
Food - I'm vegeQUArian (I do eat sea food!)

Music, Movies, and Books

I can't do anything without music! Everyday I wake up with a different song in my mind! So I wake up singing a new song every day!

My Mum was a Librarian. So I've read a lot of books since child, but I think the best book I've already read is "The little Prince." - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
You should read! =)

I really enjoy reading. So please recommend me some good books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Living, traveling and researching in remote areas of the Brazilian Amazon Forest...

Road trip from Darwin through the Northern Territory till Sydney...

Clandestine camping in Kata Tjuta and Uluru - Central Australia!

Skydive in Queenstown, NZ (15,000) =D

Studing Brazilian freshwater turtles and frogs in the Atlantic Rainforest for more than 7 years!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm open to learn whatever you can teach me!

"Nobody is so great that can not learn, nor so small that it can not teach."

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you how to cook some Brazilian meals.
How to dance "forró" (Brazilian salsa!). My favorite dance! If I can dance it you also can do!
Portuguese language

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Thailand, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Brazil

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups