Logo orange

Shirley Platteel

Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

81% response rate · Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Spanish; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Student - research & legal consultant
  • No education listed
  • From nearby Leiden
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life and think in possibilities and challenges, not in problems.

ABOUT ME

I can always find people that call me crazy.. weirdo's! What can I say, my first impression is not always my best... possibly my appreciation for sarcasm, directness and mutability have something to do with that.. sorry! But if you'll put in the effort to get to know me you'll find out I'm not as bad as you first thought (I hope).

(Probably like every other traveler) I love to meet and get to know new people and I´m fascinated by cultural differences. I keep on being amazed by the power of nature and like to be outdoors and do some (extreme) sports. I´m very open minded and if I had to pick one thing that always cheers me up is learning new stuff.

PHILOSOPHY

You only live once so you better make the most out of it and regret what you did instead of what you didn't do.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Someone told me about the concept and I thought this should be the best opportunity to learn something about the places you visit and experience the real local life.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was hosted once in Peru which was a very good experience. During that same trip I also "surfed" just via the travel-netwerk.

Besides I've hosted a couple of guys when I was on a cycling holiday through Germany with two other friends. The cycling tour was amazing as well thanks to the friendly hosts who took good care of us along the way. When I got back from this amazing trip I hosted guests from Spain, Germany, Brazil, the UK and Latvia.

Whilst living in Santo Domingo I made a lot of friends through CS, it's a crazily active community here -amazing! I even had the opportunity to hosts a new friend myself!

Interests

Sunlight consuming -nature, sports (especially sailing, cycling, running), traveling, philosophy, education, going out, (healthy) food, politics you name it!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Just one... uf Cycling holiday in Germany: perfect balance between nature - sports, culture - city life and friendship

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, China, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Dominican Republic, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Shirley's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile