Simon Karinssøn's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 25% response rate
  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

Overview

  • 56 references 52 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning German, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Live cheap. Be rich.
  • À la carte
  • From Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm just a simple guy, trying to live a simple life.

During the summer period from April until October, I live with my beautiful partner Pernille in our little house and big garden in Aarhus.

I'm very interested in agriculture and permaculture, Pernille in arts and psychedelics. So together we're trying to create a little paradise here, full of life and good atmosphere.

I would like to understand every person on the planet, but that's seems quite impossible in this lifetime. I'll settle with just getting one cycle closer to Nirvana. I'm open minded, tolerant and curious. I see the good in all people. I'm always trying to understand the different aspects of the world and life.

I'm not a subscriber to any ideology. Liberalism, socialism, anarchism etc. would all work out perfectly if we just could be nice to each other. If we can't, nothing will work anyway.

I'm a pacifist as well as a vegantarian with my own rules :) I don't think it's unethical to kill animals and eat them, but I think it's wrong to support this sick business through the supermarkets, and unfortunately I don't have any cows, sheep or chicken yet. I have plenty of plant based food and a generous garden which I'll be happy to share with you.

My focus is generally to stay away from industrial products or services, especially from stock companies, and in general consume as little as possible through money.

I don't vote at general elections every 4th year... pffffffft... I vote with every purchase I make and with all the help and love I can give. And so do you.

I'm also engaged in starting up a new eco-village 50km away. We (160 hippies) bought a huge factory and a 10 hektar farm, and started Denmarks most ambitious project in developing a new way of life, a new organic organizing structure and a method for smaller groups to escape the debt-driven psycho society that is destroying mother earth and the hope for generations. I might be working on that in some periods.

If you're not wearing suit and tie on your profile pic, your chances of staying here are pretty good. If your profile is shit, and you don't have any recommendations yet, you're still very welcome. We've all been there.

Truth and love.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

A long time ago I needed somewhere to sleep while travelling - and I really don't like hotels :) Thanks Pradeep.
I want to provide other travelers with a couch, roof, kitchen, garden and hygge.
I want to help everyone who despise money and are dreaming of a society without it.

I prefer hosting travelers, hitchhikers, workaway'ers who need a break, students who haven't found a room yet. And everything in between that.

Tourists flying in for a cheap weekend trip to Aarhus, please find another place. Thanks!

I shouldn't even be here anymore. A surfer told me couchsurfing was bought by a hedgefund and they raised the verification amount to something ridiculous. I don't want to support that.

If you care about what software you're using and who gets the benefit, then find me on trustroots or warmshowers or write me a sincere email at simonio(at)tuta.io
Also install Linux on your PC/Mac :P

Interests

I love all human beings, the forest, plants, animals, mushrooms, communication, philosophy, technology, programming, DIY, woodworking, bicycling and a lot more.

I find a great interest in discussing and exchanging ideas about the BIG stuff. Prehistory, human evolution, geology, geopolitics, everyday quantum Mechanics, theories and hypothesizes.

  • diy
  • vegetarian
  • gardening
  • technology
  • woodworking
  • philosophy
  • food
  • sustainability
  • bicycling
  • programming
  • veganism
  • psychedelics

Music, Movies, and Books

My music is older than me, and I don't have spotify. Feel free to enlighten me with good music.

Sir. David Attenborough have participated in a lot of awesome and inspiring documentaries. If you want to do something good for mother earth - Fall in love with her.
Black Mirror - 1st season. Almost like drugs.

Books that made me think, wonder, dream, and then change:
- B. Traven - The White Rose (Capitalisms clash with the native Indian culture)
- Ivan Illich - Deschooling Society (How institutionalized education is problematic)
- Jacque Fresco - The Best That Money Can't Buy (Blueprint to solve all our problems)
- Viktor Schauberger - Living Water (Water is weird and alive. Almost magical)
- Graham Hancock - Magicians of the Gods (Quest for our lost civilized forefathers)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Almost escaped the hamster wheel

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach me what you feel is awesome - I will do the same.

Maybe I can show you another way to think and provide you with healthy inspiration and important knowledge. You may think I'm a dreamer, but I'm not the only one :P

It's not about thinking outside the box, it's realizing there is no box.

Even if you win the rat race, you're still just a rat.

Challenge: Show me a rabbit hole I haven't explored..

What I Can Share with Hosts

With hosts? Depends on the situation if I'm on the road, but obviously whatever I can at that moment.
I can share almost everything with my guests. Just ask

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, Finland, France, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

My Groups