Simon Mariager's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish; learning English, German, Icelandic
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • I bicycle, climb, read and eat a lot - and I also have a ...
  • Physics major - though a part of the PhD is not to feel s...
  • From Norther Jutland
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

"If you march your winther journeys, you will have your reward, as long as all you want is a penguins egg."

ABOUT ME

I am pretty casual outdoorsy physics student, so put together your stereo types on those three and your are getting there. Read the other boxes for small hints and stories of my life and you will be closer.

PHILOSOPHY

I sometimes spend a lot of time thinking about this but every conclusion I reach later seems to elude me. But in a few words I would like to live my live free of the commercial world around me, in the sense that I like to feel rich with what I have (which is a lot). It is not a motivation not to strive for my goals, just to chose goals within my (long) reach.

I guess we will have to discuss this one, its hard to fit into a small box on the internet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have by now hosted two travellers and told my friends about this new homepage called couchsurfing. I enjoy when old acquaintances from around the world show up - though it rarely happens. Yesterday I returned a purse I found on the bicycle lane to its owner - I guess it builds trust in Copenhagen.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been a host once, and once hitch hiking in New Zealand, a couple of surfers gave me their phone number upon drop off, in case I did not catch a ride out of their town I was welcome to stay. Well, for once I did not get a ride and instead ended up playing poker and sleeping at their place. Amazing - I am here because I think we need more of that.

Interests

I like the outdoors, hiking, rock climbing, kayaking, picking berries, finding mushrooms, fishing and cross country skiing. I know Copenhagen sounds like the wrong place for all this but it works out better than you should think.

I also enjoy reading, running and a good concert, though I seem to catch most of my live music at the yearly Roskilde festival.

And I forgot physics - beside being a job it is also an interest. I guess science in general is.

  • concerts
  • festivals
  • running
  • reading
  • poker
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • boxing
  • rock climbing
  • physics
  • science

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This summer I climbed a mountain in Norway, as in really climbed with crossing of glaciers, traversing of narrow ledges and climbing vertical walls roped in. It was not a particular hard or high mountain, but I did it on my own with skills I have acquired since this dream´appeared a few years back. Everybody deserves a chance to full fill a dream of their own.

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile. It’s free!