Logo orange

Elise Mak

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China

Not Accepting Guests

81% response rate · Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References1 Neutral1 Negative
  • Fluent in Chinese, English; learning Danish, French, Thai
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • No occupation listed
  • Linguistics
  • From Hong Kong
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

---- About Me ----

Call me Elise or Sin Hang, my Chinese name. I was born and raised in Hong Kong, lived in Denmark and New York for a while, and have travelled to 30+ countries. I like to explore new places, meet new people, experience new things and tastes.

After covering world news in Hong Kong for a short time, I am working for a human rights NGO at the Thai-Burmese border. World politics and culture interest me, so I would like to hear stories of your country.

I'm very laid back and casual, always up for a good chat and tea. Food is my other passion, I am always open to try new food and would be happy to introduce you some.

PHILOSOPHY Travel now, act now, learn now.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

To get global exposure, to extend my friendships worldwide, to know the world better.

I host in Hong Kong and surf elsewhere.

Interests

To explore the city, find non-touristy places and local food. To chill and have a drink or some tea. To walk around aimlessly and observe the surroundings. To cook and invite friends over for dinner. To attend cultural/art events.

Things I enjoy: nature, cafes, bars, small stores, second hand, vintage, underground gigs, spicy hot food, street food, humanity books.

Things I don't like: loud repetitive club music, nightclubs, shopping malls, heavy make up, materialists.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: indie, shoegaze, electronic, bossa nova, jazz, acoustic, Scandinavian music.

Movies: Woody Allen, Michel Gondry, Wong Kar Wai, independent films.

Books: I like non-fiction books about culture, society and politics.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

It's hard to just name one.

Some of my favourite moments:

- Moving to New York - Booking an air ticket to London then flying the next day - Nudist beach in Portugal - Long bus trips in Europe - Looking out at Baltic Sea on ferry from Estonia to Sweden - Wandering in small village in Burma - Picking berries and forest walks in Sweden - Dancing along La Seine in Paris - Sipping tea and reading in cafes in Taiwan - Jumping into Danube river in Austria (I can't swim) - Long city walk in heavy snow in New York - Music festival with random people in Denmark - Drinking with random students and waking up on a bus drunk in Lithuania - Watching anti-child prostitution commercial on the bus in India - Fish massage and amazing food in Thailand - Cycling around in Amsterdam - Getting threatened to be shot in Italy

Teach, Learn, Share

I love cooking for people, sharing tips on good local food and cool hang out spots.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Cayman Islands, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, India, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lithuania, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

China, Denmark, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elise's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile