Suzanne Christy

Greentown, PA, USA

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Suzanne’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Catalan, Valencian, German, Spanish
  • 56, Other
  • Member since 2004
  • Home care Nurse, Gardener, Organic Activist
  • 4 years college + 500 hours massage school, BSN, CMT
  • From born- Abington,PA; lived in on a farm in Kintnersville 32 yrs
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Enjoy life no matter what my status, get to know wonderful people without spending lots of money


I am an RN for a mostly Pediatric Homecare nursing company as of 10/24/12. I moved back to northeast Pa to get back to friends & the area I've spent most of my life in. I hope to see some of my high school & college friends again soon. I had an outcall massage business that I ran in the resort area that I lived in (Pocono Mtns.)and may bring that back. I love to sing, anything from the Bach & Handel Chorale music to folk, to Alanis Morrissette & rock. Celtic is also a great favorite of mine.
I love walking, especially with Brady my chocolate Lab, and other people for conversation. I once convinced my husband to climb(walk, mostly) to the top of a granite-peaked mountain in the Adirondacks for a Beautiful view.. Amazing! I love to cook, ride horses, sing or listen to music, do handcrafts and be outdoors for any reason.
I wish I had more relaxation time, but I enjoy gardening & canning, making pickles, sauerkraut, pesto, jams & chutney. I start plants indoors so that I can try heirloom & unusual varieties. I also like to knit, embroider & sew decorative items as well as clothing & comfy socks. There's nothing better than homemade gifts and healthy food .
Son#1, Graham, is working near the Florida Coast for a computer service company, maintaining server farms, hospitals & the like & is attending college to finish his Networking Bachelors. He actually became an Internet domain provider 4 years ago by setting up his own local wireless network for a number of apartment houses in Williamsport. Son #2, Phillip, spent his Senior year in Barcelona as an exchange student. He lived in Cerdanyola de Valles & Bellaterra, & loved the Spanish way of life, and being able to hop on a train & get to the beach in 20 minutes. Then a year in Columbia at U de los Andes, and graduation from UCF with his International Business Bachelors. He has an amazing aptitude for languages, recognizes accents instantly, and hopes to get his Law degree. He's now off enjoying the Austin, TX scene and working in finance.
My husband is a musician, with a degree in Electronics Engineering. He's very handy, and can fix almost anything. He has a great singing voice, wonderful ability to harmonize & plays guitar, harmonica & (since 4 years old) drums. I bought him a bodhran to play with since we like Irish music so much.


Anything is possible if you just believe! We & the world are all connected, every good thing we do comes back to improve life for everyone, and Every Thing. It's the ultimate karma: do good & good will come to you, think positive, peaceful thoughts & improve the World!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm the moderator of Ski4ever, one of my favorite activities... it's so hard to pick just one thing though! I also check several groups on organic farming to help with growing problems, crafts, DIY projects and rural states, in case I decide to move. I'd like to help with pages but I'm not a programmer, so I concentrate on welcoming & inviting people to my area! I love to help people learn new things from gardening & eating well to crafts & animal husbandry, so I hope to help with the learning side of CS.


Friends, relatives and far off cousins... We used to have the best camping trips- to Chincoteague, the Smoky Mts, the Grand Canyon, the Appalachian Trail... I love a good hike & campfire food & chat, songs, too! I joined years ago (2004) & I feel I owe CS a lot for all the joy & amazing people it has brought into my life. CS helps me "keep the faith" in the goodness of human nature. I have met wonderful amazing people who have expanded my world and listened to the Best, fascinating stories.


Long conversations,skiing (both kinds), massage, hiking/biking, gardening/farming, canning food, baking bread, handicrafts, animals, horseback riding, Music! I'd be very happy to help anyone improve their understanding & enjoyment of any of the above! I've visited 37 states but the original map will not post anymore :( You can go to my Legacy profile & see it if you wish.. View your Old Couchsurfing Profile

Music, Movies, and Books

Rollerball (the original), Soylent Green, Lord of the Rings, Hidalgo, Dances With Wolves, The Horse Whisperer, 2001, the Harry Potter series;
Music: baroque to rock & roll, Bluegrass- especially live, Chopin & classical, folk music
Books: Capital in the 21st Century, James Redfield, Zane Gray, mysteries, ghost stories (I used to live in Bucks Co, One of the ghost capitals of the US.) Sci-Fi to Science

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Grand Canyon in winter, the Alamo & Riverwalk, Taos Pueblo, Wasatch Mtns in Utah (& skiing them!) Big Bend Hotsprings, watching the space shuttle take off when we happened to win a cruise & were in Port Canaveral Florida on the right day (What a Coincidence! That was an unbelievable stroke of luck!) singing in the Bach & Handel Chorale, & with my husband in a rock band.. I try to enjoy whatever I can & make the most of my life here. I can't pick just one thing. Life is multifaceted, Enjoy it as the Jewel that it is!

Teach, Learn, Share

Alternative therapies: massage, therapeutic touch, reiki, healthy foods; Handcrafts: knitting, sewing; Gardening, Canning, Gourmet & Healthy Cooking, Organic Lifestyles
Learn: German (forgot So much), Spanish, building solar equipment, more herbals
Share: a meal, shelter and interesting conversation.. :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

We enjoy relaxing with a beer or glass of wine while we cook dinner for our hosts. Let us know if you have any food allergies or preferences so we can make something you will like! Then we love just sitting around trading stories and enjoying music.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Suzanne’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups