Logo orange

Kate Sugden

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 30 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 34, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • many and various
  • School, uni, life
  • From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn a skill. Avoid boredom. Travel again soon.

ABOUT ME

I travelled almost constantly from 2010 to 2013, being a hippie, hobo, hitchhiker, couchsurfer, wwoofer, off the radar, outside the system. Now I'm attempting to reintegrate myself into some kinda civilisation. Somehow I ended up living in a city again. In a house. It's OK. I'm back in school. I miss the road.

PHILOSOPHY

Think less, just be.

Philosophy is my worst subject.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a stable home for the first time in years but can't host CSers because my roommates don't think it would be awesome to have strangers sleep in our house... I'm still allowed to hang out with you though, if you like.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS has allowed me to meet some very interesting people I would not otherwise have found, to go to places lonely planet will never write about, and to marvel at random acts of kindness.

I have got rides, jobs and a shit ton of useful information through this site, and I ended up cofounding a non-profit association with someone I originally met through CS.

I had some nice times in pubs too.

Interests

Learning self-suffiency, sustainability, all about natural building, permaculture, renewable energy and so on. Learning almost anything. Trying to make the world a better place, even though I don't know if I believe it's possible. Meditating. Music (listening but I wish I could play it too), gigs and festivals. Beautiful things, cosy things, twisted things, and random things.

Music, Movies & Books

Mostly electronic and so-called 'alternative' music... but like most people, I like a lot of different stuff.

Sample of iphone contents as of June 2014: Aim, Buena Vista Social Club, Burial, Chemical Brothers, CocoRosie, Crystal Castles, DJ Shadow, Fever Ray, Gil Scot-Heron and Jamie XX, Kate Bush, Ladytron, Lamb, Lana Del Rey, Manu Chao, Nick Cave, New Order, Purity Ring, Roni Size, Sixteen Horsepower, Suuns, Yeasayer

Favourite old British bands: The Stone Roses, Pulp, Joy Division, The Smiths, The Cure, Suede, Tricky, Massive Attack, Sneaker Pimps, Spiritualized, Radiohead, Orbital, Underworld, UNKLE, Faithless, Blur.

Favourite Soundtracks: Trainspotting, Slumdog Millionnaire, Berlin Calling

There's too many good bands and I feel bad for the ones I missed out of my already overly long lists.

My favourite film is Billy Elliot, because it is about triumph over gender expectations in North East England, and because it is not a love story, or a coming out story.

My favourite book is The Master and Margarita by Bulgakov. It's hard to summarize what that's about.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I was amazed that I lived past 25, and after that I can't impress myself no more.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have lots of experience proofreading and giving 1:1 support in writing English. I can teach beginner's Spanish or Russian.

I got a grant application approved by European Voluntary Service, and cofounded a nonprofit org in Sweden. I'm also good at housing and benefit applications, landlord-tenant disputes, negotiating mental health law, that kinda thing.

I can build stuff out of earth and straw. Need a house, an oven, a sauna?

I'm learning web design.

I want to learn a trade!

I've made dreadlocks a couple of times, and generally enjoy doing stuff with hair (at the owner's own risk!).

I'm not disastrous at cooking.

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile