Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Burmese, French, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • student (Global Change Ecology)
  • B. Sc in Geography
  • From Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

fight against procrastination

ABOUT ME

Ecology student, like to have people around, a bit of a greenie and treehugger, used to be vegan for quite some time but now back to just vegetarian, spontaneous, relaxed and very often open for any kind of childish stuff. Currently I am a research fellow at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute. Slowly turning into a total mapping geek.

PHILOSOPHY

Everything's going to be alright...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I live in a student dorm on the research site. I'm sadly not allowed to have visitors.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Sadly I was not travelling as much as I would have liked to in the past years. But I hope this is going to change soon.

Interests

Of course I'm interested in the stuff that I study. So I can have evening filling conversations on climate change, land use change, environmental degradation, ecosystem services, global consumption patterns and other depressing stuff, which is related to these topics.

And then of course lots of other stuff like juggling, baking, drinking beer, hiking, climbing, dreaming (seriously: I am an oneironaut), behaviroal psychology, and surprisingly many things that pop up when I click "random article" on wikipeida.

  • beer
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • track and field
  • biology
  • ecology
  • psychology
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Both with music and movies I am pretty much keen in getting to know a lot more than I know at the moment. Some movies I enjoy: Black cat, white cat; Lord of the rings; The green butcher; Life is beautiful, Django unchained; Pride
Music: mainly mixture of oldies (Beatles, Kinks, Turtles) and rock/metal. Recently I was even of successfully introduced into the world of dubstep.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Well, I've been on a 5 month trip through New Zealand, mostly hitch-hiking and hiking. I guess doing the greenstone track in winter, when nobody else was around and everything was frozen was definitely an amazing experience.

And during my time in Iceland I had the chance to see northern lights from my bedroom once in a while. It just never stopped being breathtaking.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cabo Verde, France, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Iceland, Myanmar, Netherlands, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Andrea’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups