Logo orange

Jee Won's Groups

Jee Won So

New York, NY, USA

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jee Won's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 2 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Korean; learning Chinese, Italian
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • No occupation listed
  • I am finishing my bachelor's degree ...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Eat, study, travel!

ABOUT ME

Originally from South Korea,
I study biology at Colgate University in USA,
and currently am living in Kiel for a summer internship.
I love travelling and meeting new people!

PHILOSOPHY

With couchsurfing I feel like I have a close friend or two in every city in the world Which is pretty amazing! I believe that as much as everyone is unique and different, any two people can find something in common and become good friends. And I would try to keep the new friendship throughout lifetime.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Since I am not in my hometown this year, I would be travelling and surfing on other people's couch. I hope to meet interesting, nice people and have the chance to return the experience as a host when I get my own apartment!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I don't have much experience yet, because I have been afraid, to be honest. I like to travel alone and swim in my own thoughts as I sit in the train; while talking to the person sitting next to me can be interesting and mind-opening, it is true that I enjoy making sense of the world I have seen in my own way. Well, I am trying to break out of that shell. Couchsurfing naturally forces me to open up and communicate with other people; and so far, I am thoroughly enjoying and constantly getting inspired by sharing my feelings and experiences! I love it!

I would like to share tips on traveling, favorite recipes, passion for healthy living, photography, yoga, and much more with my hosts. I can bring wine. If I stay a few days I will cook for you.

Interests

I always wanted to become a writer as a child, but ended up choosing biology as my major in college. I got bored on the way so I went abroad to Venice and studied Italian opera, art history, and archaeology. The next year I went back to my home town, Seoul, Korea, for a semester to experience the college student's life in Korea. Now I am in Germany, supposed to be doing research in food science but more interested in traveling and taking better photos. I do yoga everyday, try to run everyday, and eat healthy--which is not so easy in Germany because I can't resist to sample all different kinds of beer!

Music, Movies & Books

I simply can't choose one.

I love all disney animations and Miyazaki Hayao's.
I like those films set in Jane Austin's era, influenced by my mom who studies the antique doll costumes.
Then I also like all Christopher Nolan films too.
And all those movies with food! Kamome Diner, Like Water for Chocolate, Ratatouille, to name a few.

For books, I am one of those people who actually read the cookbook; not necessarily to try the recipes, but I just love imagining what the combination of those ingredients cooked in that particular way would turn out to be like!

These days I am more listening to podcasts when I have free time, rather than listening to music. Generally I like soft guitar sounds paired with also soft vocals, something like Jason Mraz but not limited to. I studied Italian opera and played piano for a long time so if you are into classics, feel free to bring up the subject!

Teach, Learn, Share

One interesting skill I have is that I know how to make Korean traditional rice wine. It takes at least seven days to finish but after the first day all you need to do is stir once every day, so if you are interested ask me in advance and I will bring my yeast with me to help you start your own!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Sweden

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Italy, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jee Won's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile