Sofia Rüdiger's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sofia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Afrikaans, French, Korean, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • research assistant & doctoral student
  • university
  • From Aschaffenburg, Germany
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

listen...see...read...learn!

ABOUT ME

I'm a research assistant and doctoral student in English linguistics at Bayreuth University. This is all very new to me but I'm very excited to work in a field that I've been passionate about for such a long time!

My professional life is very time-consuming but I believe that no matter how busy one is, there should always be enough time to cook a nice meal! I'm not a vegetarian but I enjoy eating vegetables a lot. I receive a local farmer's box with fresh vegetables and fruits every week and love to surprise myself with new recipes :) I also really like to bake and share the result with my friends!

I usually always have a book with me...because you never know when you could use one! I'm not an e-reader kind of person and just need a real paper book :)

I love coffee, am a good listener and (like everybody else on couchsurfing) enjoy traveling to other countries. I'm open-minded, humorous and like to laugh! I'm not really a person for clubbing & dancing (it just looks too funny when I do it) but I'm always up for a bottle of beer or a glass of wine :)

PHILOSOPHY

Always do what you are passionate about! Be respectful to others and don't be lazy! But don't forget to have fun in your life! Be happy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

right now I'm living in a small student accommodation, so I don't have a couch to let anybody sleep on...but if you're coming to Bayreuth I'd be glad to meet up and show you around!

Interests

sports (especially running and aerobics, snowboarding in winter), languages (as a linguist it would be pretty sad if you weren't interested in languages), traveling (oh how I miss Asia), books (yes, book nerd, you got me), cooking & baking (much to the delight of my friends), movies (I can be enthusiastic about most movies...but horror movies, no thanks!) & TV series (Firefly, Big Bang Theory, HIMYM, Grimm, Modern Family, Community...)

  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • baking
  • vegetarian
  • running
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • tv
  • traveling
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • boxing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I can find something positive in most movies...if they're really really bad, they're probably funny again! I don't care that much for movie choice, I just like the act of watching a movie together with a friend! But I'm a wuss when it comes to horror movies, so you need to be pretty convincing to get me to watch one ;)
I like rock music, but somehow I stopped discovering new music a couple of years ago! So what I listen to now, is kind of old-fashioned already! Just radio can be ok too sometimes but I'm not too much into love songs..(ugh)
books are my big passion. I like possessing books and I can't throw them away. Must be related to the fact that my Dad had a bookshop and we always had a huge library at home. I can be passionate about most kinds of books, but one of my most favorite authors is Haruki Murakami. I enjoy fantasy, science fiction, classics, recent bestsellers...and of course I also read lots and lots of books about languages and linguistics.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

going to Korea all by myself and staying there for two years...every day was amazing!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can give advice on having a great stay in South Korea and which places to visit!
I'm a good proofreader (mainly in German because it's my mother tongue :)
I'd be very happy to learn how to cook your favorite recipe :) if you want I can teach you mine (I can cook very nice Korean food if I can find the ingredients).
I always like to learn about other cultures and languages!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, France, Japan, Netherlands, Poland, Switzerland, Taiwan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Sofia’s full profile. It’s free!