Eric Davison's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 92 References 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Engineer/Programmer
  • No education listed
  • From Rockford, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live a life that I'll be proud to tell stories about.

ABOUT ME

I play music, I travel, I hike and surf, I ride my motorcycle, and I enjoy new beers (as long as they're good). I do my best to keep my life interesting and make sure I'll have some good stories to tell. Always up for an adventure - I haven't yet found someone who proposed adventures that were too crazy for me. Part geek and part partier, I'm equally up for going out to the bars, sitting around playing board games, or going backpacking for the weekend.

PHILOSOPHY

There are two kinds of happiness - experiencing something happy right now, and being happy with how you remember something. Sometimes they can't both be satisfied, and I'm one who prefers the latter. I'd rather have a good story, even if it was a difficult adventure. I'd rather spend a week seeing every sight and experiencing as much as possible than sitting on the beach doing nothing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I used CS for the 4-month trip I took through the 48 lower states one summer. After I finished and moved out to San Diego, I hosted 3-4 times a month for the next six months. I don't host as much now, but I do participate in the San Diego community, and I host when I can - usually through people I meet at meetups, or friends of friends, but I do occasionally turn my couch on when I know work won't be too busy and my weekends aren't too booked.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed for an entire summer as part of my motorcycle trip around the country. Met some awesome people, and hoping to keep in touch with many of them and see them again when I visit. I've been amazed at how easy it is to get along with every couchsurfer I've met, regardless of where they live, how they were raised, or what they do. Really love hosting and meeting new people through the meetups.

Interests

Music, Guitar/other instruments, Ultimate Frisbee, motorcycles, rock climbing, surfing, hiking, electronics projects, board games, and other stuff. Changes rapidly - I'll get into something for a few months or a few years, and then find something else and move on. Acro Yoga is my current hobby. I always like trying new kinds of beer and rarely drink two of the same thing in a night.

  • concerts
  • beer
  • yoga
  • drinking
  • motorcycles
  • electronics
  • shopping
  • board games
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • rock climbing
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Books
Been reading a ton while traveling, but all over the place. I finished the Dresden Files, three James Michener books, a few books on cognitive science, and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo recently.

Movies/Shows
If Wes Anderson made a porno I'd probably still think it was an amazing movie. Movies and shows that make you think are the kind I like best. Movies and shows that have mindless humor are tolerable, but I always feel like I wasted a few hours afterwards. Most TV shows will not live up to Breaking Bad or House of Cards.

Music
I will see just about anything live and enjoy it as long as there's a musician on stage, and sometimes even if not. I tend towards singer-songwriter stuff because it's fun to cover. I go to a lot of concerts, and I've seen Nickel Creek or their side projects more than 40 times in concert.

Video Games
I play a lot less than I used to, but I enjoy it enough to make some time now and then. I have been watching Pro eSports League of Legends for a while now, and follow a few of the teams like most people follow their sports teams.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Took my motorcycle through 48 states in 100 days, camping, staying with friends, and (of course) couchsurfing.

Took a different motorcycle from California to Brazil over eight months, learning Spanish and how to navigate border crossings with a vehicle as I went.

Road trip to follow the same band around for 7 concerts in 7 days in 7 different states.

Spent a week living in a bamboo hut in the Antique province of Panay island in the Philippines, hiking and taking motorcycles and other transportation to various parts of the island with a friend.

Went to Rio for Carnaval. Got a costume at a sex shop.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you some Acro Yoga, and I promise it's a lot easier to begin than it looks. I could teach you about musical instruments you may not have heard of. Maybe teach you what it's like to be on the back of a motorcycle. Lately I've been teaching people to rock climb or surf, though I'm still mostly a beginner myself at both.

I love learning new things. I'm curious about just about anything, so if you know something interesting about the world, I probably want to hear it. "Anything can make me stop and look and wonder, and sometimes learn."

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm usually traveling with a motorcycle, so I'd love to take you for a ride.

I pride myself on my ability to pick beers for people given a little information, even if they say they don't usually like beer.

I'm occasionally traveling with a guitar, so I can play a few songs for you or maybe teach you how to play one or two.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    10 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Eric’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups