Sophie Rees's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Student and part-time worker at record shop
  • Studying Anthropology and Visual Practice at Goldsmiths U...
  • From London, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

Hi i'm Sophie!

I am studying Visual Anthropology at Goldsmiths so love learning about new places and people and creating films.

I love travelling and seeing new places, and love the concept of couchsurfing because it allows people to meet friends on a grassroots level. So I hope that it brings me to meet people from a down to earth perspective!

My partner and I are currently building a Geodesic dome called the 'Pangaea dome', this we will rent out to music festivals. Music being intrinsically tied with our lives. Max, my partner, is studying global popular music and is a producer of jungle and hiphop.

Next stop is Copenhagen!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I would like to meet more people from the places I visit, in an informal environment! I want to find out more about their culture to in turn learn more about our own. When I meet people from around the world, we always seem to have such interesting conversations about cultural differences and similarities and I think this a very important thing to do. I have a feeling that the people on couchsurfing will be great practitioners of reciprocity and I am excited to experience this, as I love to give. Although this is my first time on couchsurfing, I am excited for people to stay with me in London and get the chance to show them around and host them!


  • architecture
  • street art
  • photography
  • documentaries
  • music festivals
  • environment
  • reading
  • music
  • anthropology
  • archeology
  • geopolitics
  • visual arts
  • jungle
  • disco
  • techno
  • radio
  • records
  • geometry

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all music and could never pin it down. However, I have recently discovered Soichi Terada, a Japanese electronic producer. He has produced loads of jungle music for games such as Ape Escape and has recently released his new stuff, which have more techno influences. Though, I love all sorts too, world music, country music.. i love dolly parton for example!

I really like Shane Meadows films such as Dead Mans Shoes and This is England. I also like animation and have recently watched Anomalisa by Charlie Kaufman, which was great!

I finally finished David Copperfield by Charles Dickens! One of the most amazing books I have ever read!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I went paragliding in Oludeniz Beach in Turkey! I am pretty scared of heights so it was a very liberating experience. It was 2000m high and took 45 minutes alone to drive to point of jumping off! Even the drive up was scary, as the driver zoomed around tight corners in an old jeep close to the edge of a mountain.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can cook tasty food after working in various restaurants when I was younger. Of course, if you want a good old English fry up this can be provided too!

I recently learnt how to juggle!!! An accomplishment for someone with little hand eye coordination! So can teach you too!

My course provides me with a rich source of knowledge about primitive human development and humans a long time ago. I love sharing music too, doesn't matter at all what kind! :)

I would love to learn the guitar, harmonica and clarinet! I love learning about things to do with the sky, ancient people and places and things that don't normally cross my path.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love games and make up new word games all the time! I love sharing music too, doesn't matter at all what kind! :) I have an open mind and a positive attitude, which I hope to share too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Barbados, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!