Sophie Shuttlewood's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 54, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Supporting young people
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learning more permaculture and sustainable living especially around food, energy & resourcefulness.

ABOUT ME

Outgoing, sociable, open minded & easy going.

PHILOSOPHY

Be positive, be open, be human!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have travelled a lot, generally overlanding, sometimes turning up in the middle of nowhere and winging it on the accommodation front and including homestays. Couch hosting/surfing gives me a chance to pay back some of the hospitality received and brings wonderful open, spirited fellow travellers to my door - it's kind of armchair travelling!

Interests

I love the great outdoors especially cycling or walking in it or just sitting under the sky watching the clouds and the birds. I enjoy travelling and learning about different cultures and meeting people from all walks of life. I like living life simply, just buying necessary stuff, socialising as happily over coffee or round a firepit as down a proper local pub. I enjoy cooking especially when sharing food, also good conversations, live music & I adore dancing!

  • birds
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • walking
  • pub crawls
  • traveling
  • eating out
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • rock climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Pulp Fiction
Pure
The Selfish Giant
The Diving Bell & The Butterfly
Pollen - Jeff Noon
The Woman in White - Wilkie Collins
Oasis
Massive Attack
Damien Rice

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbing a mountain in 40+ degrees passing sacked sarcophagi to arrive at an awe inspiring amphitheatre with a mountain backdrop - Termessos, Turkey, should be the eighth wonder of the world.

Travelled for 3 1/2 weeks overlanding with my youngest son in Peru 2013 & managed to complete a 3 day mountain trek to 5000m just as well as the rest of the group who were half my age!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good question, hmmm - well I get along with just about all sorts of people and can usually make good connections and help conversations to flow - into the wee hours if people have the stamina! I am a well travelled very accepting person so will go with the flow pretty easily, more random the better probably :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Peru, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!