Sophie preston's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English; learning Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Charity worker
  • BSc Zoology/BA Ancient History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

My husband and I are off travelling this year. We are hoping to meet lots of new people by utilising Couchsurfing while we are away as well as eco focused workaways. We will be visiting Greece, starting in Athen in July 2015 then onto Italy in September then South Africa in November. (Mike's family lives out there so we are visiting them, Mike is Afrikaans) then back to Europe next Spring to continue through Spain France etc.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Great way to meet new people and save money on accommodation. Also when I return to England I will encourage our shared house to take in Couchsurfers to let people experience where we will be living as well as meet new people.

Interests

Sciences, Animals, Wildlife, the environment, History, Art, parties, new experiences, festivals, music, reading, playing board games, drinking wine, eating lovely tasty food, cats, talking to people. Mike is very creative, can beatbox and play Poi and is a bit of a thespian! :)

  • animals
  • cats
  • wildlife
  • arts
  • festivals
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • partying
  • drinking
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Lots!! Across many genres. Mike likes Sci-Fi books, I prefer fantasy fiction or anything to do with Zoology/Biology. We really like movies but dont have a preference to types as long as its good, can do silly comedy or deep thriller etc. Music can vary on mood or surroundings, I like most things except 'pop' music. :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Secretly got married to my soulmate, we didnt tell anyone after uni just popped up the registry office and spent £100 to become the wife to my amazing partner. Our families were not very happy to not have been invited and have a ceremony to attend. We do things our own way and have been married almost 2 years already and together 6. We have both travelled a little and I have also been very lucky to be able to study Orangutans while in Borneo on a field trip. We are hoping to add t o this list while we are on our travels this year.

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn about traditional foods on our travels and share my cooking skills!

Mike can show off his fire poi skills if there is ever a chance.

We both like helping out and learning about new cultures as well as detailing our own experiences and knowledge.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We love talking about the world and sharing our opinions on subjects, putting the world to rights over fine food and wine!

I love to cook so would happily cook for people during our stay.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cuba, Estonia, France, India, Indonesia, Jersey, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mozambique, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!